Gotek for knitting Machine

Post Reply
juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

hello.
i bought 2 gotek drives to substitute standard 3.5 FDD on a OLD computer and on a Knitting Machine.

Standard Computer is used to make graphics for the machine. It's DOS based operative system.
It has a standard IDE FDD.

Knitting Machine has a computer based on motorola 68000 and has VERSADOS operative system.
It has a SCSI FDD with TEAC FC-I SCSI BOARD and TEAC FD-235HF 3700 FDD.

I successfully installed HXC firmware on both the gotek drives. (user olivieroa dot gmail dot com)

Computer operates in two modes:

1) standard fat mode
2) versados mode (to write disks for the knitting machine)

Knitting machine computer only reads versados DISKS.

Everything worked on the pc using a prepared empty 1.44mb disk image from your site.
i could format e write data in standard fat mode and i could format and save data in versadose format and mode.

The problem is i CAN'T read versados disk on knitting machine.
i receive "can't mount" error.

i don't have access to versados operative system (i don't know how to use it, so i can't format disks on that system...)

i tried to make a image reading from a real disk.. but it doesn't work in pc and on knitting machine.

i post in this link: pictures of drive, machine, image disk working on pc (versados formatted from empy 1.44 standard image on pc - working on pc, versados image read from real disk. NOT WORKING).

https://www.transfernow.net/1Wk1CA022020


1 are my gotek jumpers set well? jumpers are set on first drive (DS0) on knitting machine and on DS1 (as B:) on the pc.
2 could you help me to make all work on knitting machine?

thank you!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by Jeff »

Some sectors are missing in the first tracks. You can see this with the hxc tool track/disk viewer.
Try to make another dump.
Also think to force/set the IBM PC HD interface mode on the emulator or in the HFE image.

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

I read again the same floppy disk

https://www.transfernow.net/NhwKB5022020

i tried double step.

I can't try it in machine at the moment.

I saw now the file is bigger. During import i found 1 bad sector (3 bad sector on the other import of the same disk).

How can a force interface mode in image file?

thank you!

If we make it work i will buy other drives and firmwares...

Angelo

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

same disk. read again. 0 bad blocks

https://www.transfernow.net/l1PS9p022020

Angelo

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by Jeff »

juri76 wrote:
Fri Feb 28, 2020 4:00 pm
i tried double step.
But why ? The image now miss half of the tracks. Unset the double step option and make again the image.

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

Jeff wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 2:05 am
juri76 wrote:
Fri Feb 28, 2020 4:00 pm
i tried double step.
But why ? The image now miss half of the tracks. Unset the double step option and make again the image.
i thought "double step" meant "read two times"... sorry.

I don't kwow if 3rd try is with or without double step because a friend of mine made the export...

i have to wait for monday to make another import. I don't have a IDE FDD on a Windows PC... (i have only a USB FDD on my newer PC...)

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

Hello.

i read again the disk:
https://www.transfernow.net/xeREl2032020

in the zip file you find 2 versions:
first one is not modified from disk read
second one is the one with forced interface PCHD.

Both the files work on the PC but they DON'T WORK on KNITTING MACHINE with TEAC SCSI DRIVE...

what could i try?

Thank you

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by Jeff »

juri76 wrote:
Mon Mar 02, 2020 5:55 pm
Hello.

i read again the disk:
https://www.transfernow.net/xeREl2032020

in the zip file you find 2 versions:
first one is not modified from disk read
second one is the one with forced interface PCHD.

Both the files work on the PC but they DON'T WORK on KNITTING MACHINE with TEAC SCSI DRIVE...

what could i try?

Thank you
But you make work some previous files on the Knitting Machine, isn't it ? If so, which ones ?

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

Nope.

I only made it work with the pc.

First time with virtual empty 1.44 hd disk formatted on pc in versados format, and today with read disk. But always only on pc.

I don't know if problem is virtual drive and scsi controller related. I remember i read something about "reverted something" with whom you made work a substitute of a teac fd 235... But i can't find it in the forum again...

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by Jeff »

juri76 wrote:
Mon Mar 02, 2020 11:02 pm
Nope.

I only made it work with the pc.

First time with virtual empty 1.44 hd disk formatted on pc in versados format, and today with read disk. But always only on pc.

I don't know if problem is virtual drive and scsi controller related. I remember i read something about "reverted something" with whom you made work a substitute of a teac fd 235... But i can't find it in the forum again...
ok. Is the gotek green led always lit ?

Always please take a picture of the the old drive jumpers.

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

Gotek green led is off. (i tried to revert the cable and it was always On).

You can find the jumpers pic in the zip in the first link of this topic. Gotek drive has only ds0 junper setting.

I found a topic similar to mine:
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=810&p=5898&hilit=Teac#p5898

You talked about reverted 1.44/720 format...

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by Jeff »

juri76 wrote:
Tue Mar 03, 2020 12:48 am
You talked about reverted 1.44/720 format...
Ok then you should try to force the interface mode in the embedded menu :

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683#p16457

Menu 1 - Interface mode. Try:

01 = IBM PC DD
02 = IBM PC HD
08 = GENERIC SHUGART DD
0F = S900/S950 (Density Auto)
10 = PC DD/HD (Density Auto)

juri76
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 1:04 am

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by juri76 »

Hello.

i tried all interface modes you suggested but no one is working.

do you think i have to test it making changes and then restart the machine or it should
work if i make changes "live"? I tested every configuration you suggested without restarting
the machine because it takes much time to start...

I don't know what to try more...

i post here a new pictrure of original drive jumpers:
https://www.transfernow.net/W5ccAn032020

thank you

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek for knitting Machine

Post by Jeff »

juri76 wrote:
Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:42 am
do you think i have to test it making changes and then restart the machine
yes probably : the machine may try to detect the drive at power up...

Post Reply