Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
SKRYPTRS
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:57 am

Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SKRYPTRS »

The Akai S900 has the option to boot from disk to a 4.0 operating system. It basically makes it have all the functions of an s950. Is there a way to create an image to boot from disk? Since I can't save the operating system I can only load it. Is this possible? If so how?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7148
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by Jeff »

SKRYPTRS wrote:The Akai S900 has the option to boot from disk to a 4.0 operating system. It basically makes it have all the functions of an s950. Is there a way to create an image to boot from disk? Since I can't save the operating system I can only load it. Is this possible? If so how?
Use a pc to make an image of the disk.

Please see the software manual page 14.
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... al_ENG.pdf

living sounds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by living sounds »

I've got a Gotek drive emulator running HxC. It runs fine in my S900 in all respects but one - auto load (and thus booting version 4) doesn't work. The S900 does auto load from the original FDD drive.

Also, is there a way to convert an HD floppy image to an SD image (provided there is sufficient free space left)?

Thanks!

SKRYPTRS
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SKRYPTRS »

Thats exactly where I'm at. Trying to make it autoload

living sounds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by living sounds »

I've tried every combination in terms of software and jumpers now, I can't get it to work.

SKRYPTRS
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SKRYPTRS »

Man that blows. Makes me wish I never got rid of my s950.

living sounds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by living sounds »

SKRYPTRS wrote:Man that blows. Makes me wish I never got rid of my s950.
Me, too, I had two of those. But I think the S900 sounds a little better, more definition. Hope we can get this to work somehow.

TheBeachBorg
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by TheBeachBorg »

Any luck on an auto load work around for booting OS4?

SPOD
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SPOD »

I'm interested in this Autoload as well. 1.2 has the filter accessible anyway but if I can't use OS 4 then I won't be able to use my old disks.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7148
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by Jeff »

OS 4 image added to the S900 package :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

sookilala
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:15 am

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by sookilala »

living sounds wrote:I've got a Gotek drive emulator running HxC. It runs fine in my S900

im trying to get the gotek working in my s900, did you need to make any jumper pin configuration changes?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7148
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by Jeff »

it's an hxc gotek ?

Post Reply