everything there.. just Nor

HxC Floppy Emulator on Atari ST support
Post Reply
Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

Hello, updated the Hxc Gotek by upd file. from last archive. turned on two buttons pressed rotating segments.. flashes 3 times.. back to loader.

I have copied all the files from the manager to the root dir..

Try and boot the machine.. got goes to Nor mode.. and nothing.

Help?

James

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Jeff »

Bikerbob wrote:
Tue Oct 01, 2019 9:18 am
Hello, updated the Hxc Gotek by upd file. from last archive. turned on two buttons pressed rotating segments.. flashes 3 times.. back to loader.

I have copied all the files from the manager to the root dir..

Try and boot the machine.. got goes to Nor mode.. and nothing.

Help?

James

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683#p18293
:arrow: This doesn't work : I see "Nor" on the display when inserting the USB stick

The emulator is in "NORmal mode".

Since you don't have any OLED or LCD screen, you need to use the indexed mode or the "autoboot"/file selector mode if you have an Amiga/Atari ST/CPC.

- In indexed mode you must use the indexed config file and name the files images DSKA0000.XXX, DSKA0001.XXX, DSKA0002.XXX (replace XXX by the original file extension.)

- In "autoboot"/file selector mode you must use the "autoboot"/file selector config file and the autoboot.hfe available for your machine. The images selection is done with a file selector software (autoboot.hfe) to set the "slots" (supported on Atari ST, Amiga, CPC).

See the usage page for more details.

The HXCSDFE.CFG config files and autoboot.hfe files are in the firmware archive.

Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

I updated it--- when turned on I held both buttons .. I got loader.. spinning dashes.. then 3 flashes and Nor..


So your telling me I should do what I have already done??

I said I downloaded the manager files for the Atari and put them in the root directory of the USB

Everything is there.. just Nor

So I am sorry if you are trying to tell me something else I am missing it???

Attached is the root dir- the UPD was removed after I did the update.. Hope I did it right.

James
Attachments
hxc.jpg
hxc.jpg (53.49 KiB) Viewed 4357 times

Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

So that directory is what I have minus the UPD..

This is the video of what I am getting.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Jeff »

Where did you take this CFG file exactly ? It doesn't have a normal size...

Please use the one in the firmware archive :
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... rmware.zip

(the indexed version !)

Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

Sorry Jeff, I would have sworn I took everything out of that archive.

You were correct it was the cfg.

I used the Autoboot config, now I am at the menu. All seems to be fine.

Thanks for your support.

James

Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

Sorry to be posting again..

I am in the menu now.. I set disks to the slots press F7 to reboot.. and I am back in the menu.

I cannot seem to launch a disk.

James

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Jeff »

Bikerbob wrote:
Thu Oct 03, 2019 2:06 am
Sorry to be posting again..

I am in the menu now.. I set disks to the slots press F7 to reboot.. and I am back in the menu.

I cannot seem to launch a disk.

James
Which files images ? (which types ?)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Jeff »

To be sure please use the attached cfg file.
HXCSDFE.CFG.zip
(301 Bytes) Downloaded 105 times

Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

I have both ST and STX files.

I was not able to ever load an STX file. Most ST files would load.

James

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Jeff »

Bikerbob wrote:
Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:37 am
I have both ST and STX files.

I was not able to ever load an STX file. Most ST files would load.

James
Ok then this is normal.
Use this tool to convert STX to HFEv3 :
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... t_beta.zip
(You can batch convert them)

Bikerbob
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2017 9:18 am

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Bikerbob »

20191009_205158.jpg
20191009_205158.jpg (175.79 KiB) Viewed 4110 times
Is this normal - each time I take the USB stick out.. use it in a windows 10 machine (I am just being specific.. its always the one I put it in) then try and reboot it in HxC.. I get this.. I reboot a 2nd time.. np.

James

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7257
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: everything there.. just Nor

Post by Jeff »

Same issue with cold boots ?

Post Reply