Partitioning question

Post Reply
z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

Hi, I'm finding it hard to wrap my head around how to create new partitions on my Akai S1000 with gotek. I just finished getting it all up and running and added some of the quickinstall files, which load up fine. What I can't figure out is how do you add new partitions on the fly? Surely you don't duplicate an HFE file on the computer and manually number each one all the way up to 1000 do you?

I tried to understand the floppy emulator software because I read that there was a way to generate an empty file but it's pretty convoluted. Isn't there just some button combo that'll create a new partition from the front panel or is there a command in the software to "create 50 blank numbered partitions"? I see a batch command but I don't see anything of how it would generate and number a set amount of blank partitions.

Tried searching, and I've been at this for hours so I'd be very grateful for any advice.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Partitioning question

Post by Jeff »

Are you running under windows, linux or Mac os X ?

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

My main computer is OSX. I found a pentium 2 running XP in my garage that I've done most of the hacking around with on the Gotek, but it can't properly use the internet it's so old. But I can copy files from my Mac onto a disk and transfer between the computers if I need to.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Partitioning question

Post by Jeff »

Then this is simple : Under Mac OS X or Linux

Download this script :
duplicate.sh.zip
(293 Bytes) Downloaded 196 times

or put this code into a text file and save it with the name "duplicate.sh" in place you want to duplicate the image :

Code: Select all

#/bin/bash

echo Duplicate $1 $2 times...

i=0
while (( i < $2 )); do
  echo Copy $1 to `printf "DSKA%.4d.HFE" $i`
  cp $1 `printf "DSKA%.4d.HFE" $i`
  i=$((i+1))
done

echo done!
And in shell console call it with these parameters to generate 200 images based on your "Your_source_Image.hfe" file:

Code: Select all

./duplicate.sh Your_source_Image.hfe  200
(Your_source_Image.hfe must be in the same folder..)
(You can change the .HFE extension in the script if you are using something else, eg .IMG / .OUT...)

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

Did you just code me something? :shock:

Thanks!!

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

...err, I am assuming "shell console" is Terminal?

Also, what if I just wanted to make the full 000-999 as blanks just so they are in my sampler? I ask because if I started to make 000-200 what would I do if I wanted to make 201-400 and so on? Many of us people coming from the music sampler side of things are probably total programming noobs just like me...

And lastly, creating these blank floppy files would be a great feature in the HXC floppy emulator software! Would be nice to customize it with starting number and number of files generated etc.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Partitioning question

Post by Jeff »

z23 wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:34 pm
...err, I am assuming "shell console" is Terminal?
yes
z23 wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:34 pm

Also, what if I just wanted to make the full 000-999 as blanks just so they are in my sampler? I ask because if I started to make 000-200 what would I do if I wanted to make 201-400 and so on? Many of us people coming from the music sampler side of things are probably total programming noobs just like me...
If you want just to start at 201 change the line "i=0" to "i=201"
you can also add this as a parameter with "i=$3" for example (use the third script parameter)
and call the script with this command :

./duplicate.sh Your_source_Image.hfe 400 201
z23 wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:34 pm
And lastly, creating these blank floppy files would be a great feature in the HXC floppy emulator software! Would be nice to customize it with starting number and number of files generated etc.
Yes sure, i think i will add a "tool" inside to generate this automatically.

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

went to console, typed:

cd desktop/HXC <-where my files are
typed in ./duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2 <--- tried 2 only for a test because I assume that number on the end is how many you want to make

terminal returns:
-bash: ./duplicate.sh: Permission denied.

I honestly have no idea what I'm doing here.

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

Sort of separate issue also, I have not been able to generate a floppy image .HFE file in the floppy emulator software that work in the s1000. It only seems to work if I manually duplicate one of the DSKAXXXX.HFE files that were in the "quickinstall" folders downloaded from the HXC site.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Partitioning question

Post by Jeff »

z23 wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:49 pm
went to console, typed:

cd desktop/HXC <-where my files are
typed in ./duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2 <--- tried 2 only for a test because I assume that number on the end is how many you want to make

terminal returns:
-bash: ./duplicate.sh: Permission denied.

I honestly have no idea what I'm doing here.
may need this before : sudo chmod 755 duplicate.sh

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

nothing i try using that code works:

./sudo chmod 755 duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2
-bash: ./sudo: No such file or directory

sudo chmod 755 duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2
chmod: 2: No such file or directory

sudo chmod ./duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2
chmod: Invalid file mode: ./duplicate.sh

I don't even know how to add that in properly... :/

I do appreciate the help though, thank you.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 8092
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Partitioning question

Post by Jeff »

z23 wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:27 pm
nothing i try using that code works:

./sudo chmod 755 duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2
-bash: ./sudo: No such file or directory

sudo chmod 755 duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2
chmod: 2: No such file or directory

sudo chmod ./duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2
chmod: Invalid file mode: ./duplicate.sh

I don't even know how to add that in properly... :/

I do appreciate the help though, thank you.
No.
First command, to do only the first time :

Code: Select all

sudo chmod 755 duplicate.sh
(without the ./)

then

Code: Select all

./duplicate.sh DSKA0000.HFE 2

z23
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: Partitioning question

Post by z23 »

Thank you very, very much! That command works now and I've got a life time worth of sampling room ready to go in my s1000.

Post Reply