Roland MV30

HxC Floppy Emulator Roland Samplers/Keyboards support
Post Reply
AleksandarK
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:16 pm

Roland MV30

Post by AleksandarK »

Hi Jeff and everybady,

I received my HxC a few days ago. I am trying to make it work with my Roland MV30 midi sequencer.
I did everything the manual sugests, but HxC doesnt work out of the box with MV30.
I beleive the floppy and controler in MV are close to those in Roland W30 ans S330 samplers.
They originate from the same time period.
MV floppies are readable from DOS 6.2 but not from the XP.
I can provide more details about what I have tried, if you want to support.

thanks
Aleksandar

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Jeff »

Jumper Setting used ?
Floppy cable used ?
Can post here the HFE floppy image here ?

AleksandarK
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:16 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by AleksandarK »

Tried all jumper settings, best shot was Atari, drive a:, cable is not twisted.
In that case , middle led is switching on and off repeatedly,
tracks on the display is going from 00 - 02 up and down
and if it fel aslep,display wakes from saver mode .

I would to try to post the image, if I knew how.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Jeff »

AleksandarK wrote:Tried all jumper settings, best shot was Atari, drive a:, cable is not twisted.
In that case , middle led is switching on and off repeatedly,
tracks on the display is going from 00 - 02 up and down
and if it fel aslep,display wakes from saver mode .

I would to try to post the image, if I knew how.
Send me by email the HFE file:
http://hxc2001.free.fr/imiel.htm

AleksandarK
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:16 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by AleksandarK »

Sent,

The image was created using the floppy disk dump utility from the HxC gui.
Reported no errors, 80 tracks .

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Jeff »

AleksandarK wrote:Sent,

The image was created using the floppy disk dump utility from the HxC gui.
Reported no errors, 80 tracks .
AleksandarK wrote: It works. Releif...

How can I make correct disk images ?
Just force the floppy image interface mode to "Generic Shugart" before export. (see attached picture).
You can load your HFE files and reexport them with the new setting.

Best Regards,
Jean-François DEL NERO
shugartset.jpg
shugartset.jpg (66.14 KiB) Viewed 22171 times

AleksandarK
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:16 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by AleksandarK »

Thank you my friend for making this all possible.

cheers

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Jeff »

AleksandarK wrote:Thank you my friend for making this all possible.

cheers
Have you tried to write something on the virtual disk ?

AleksandarK
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:16 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by AleksandarK »

Yes,

It works. read and write.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Jeff »

AleksandarK wrote:Yes,

It works. read and write.
ok thanks !
:D

Sparky Dave
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:17 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Sparky Dave »

Hi guys

I've got a Roland MV30 and am considering upgrading the floppy drive to the HXC drive emulator.
I take it from your conversations that you eventually got a resolve with the initial problems.
If I purchase a drive emulator, what will I need to do to make it work properly with the MV30?
Also, can I just check that the new setup does both reading and writing with the SD card?

Cheers,
David

Ricoche
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:48 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Ricoche »

Hello there!

I just acquired a Roland MV-30 but it didn't come with the Operating System Startup Disk v1.09.1. Would anyone happen to have this disk either in image or HxC format. I do have a couple of HxC emulators. It's quite hard to find. There is a Yahoo Group, but like many nowadays, they are either abandoned or not letting anyone join.

Thanks in advance.

Jim

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7601
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Jeff »

Ricoche wrote:Hello there!

I just acquired a Roland MV-30 but it didn't come with the Operating System Startup Disk v1.09.1. Would anyone happen to have this disk either in image or HxC format. I do have a couple of HxC emulators. It's quite hard to find. There is a Yahoo Group, but like many nowadays, they are either abandoned or not letting anyone join.

Thanks in advance.

Jim
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

Ricoche
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2010 1:48 pm

Re: Roland MV30

Post by Ricoche »

PERFECT!! Just what I was looking for. Works great.

THANK YOU!!!

Jim

musicabos
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:28 am

Re: Roland MV30

Post by musicabos »

Roland MV-30 original drive (Chinon FZ-354) back view
chinon_FZ354_MV30.jpg
chinon_FZ354_MV30.jpg (176.89 KiB) Viewed 20394 times
Roland MV-30 (Chinon FZ-354) jumper settings </p>
Roland MV-30 chinon FZ-354 jumper settings
Roland MV-30 chinon FZ-354 jumper settings
MV30_FZ354_jumpers.jpg (159.39 KiB) Viewed 20394 times

Post Reply