Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

HxC Floppy Emulator Roland Samplers/Keyboards support
Post Reply
jasr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:35 pm

Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

Post by jasr »

Hi,

Can you help me with this problem, The emulator boot system disks very well but when is required the change of disk the MC-50 doesn't recognize the change of disk, is necessary some jumper adjust for that?

Can I speed up the read/write velocity in this drive?

The emulator that I use is a Gotek drive emulator with HxC software.

Thanks in advance,
José Rodrigues

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7596
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

Post by Jeff »

Probably the interface mode into the HFE files.
How they are setup ?

jasr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:35 pm

Re: Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

Post by jasr »

Hi,

My setup:

The jumpers in the drive are: S1 and MO

In software:

"HFE file interface mode": Generic Shugart
"Load last loaded floppy" : Checked
"Enable index mode": Checked

This is all right?

With the real floppy drive the MC-50 only recognize the "disk change" after press the eject button to remove the diskette and re-insert the new one.

jasr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:35 pm

Re: Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

Post by jasr »

Hi again,

Is Solved... :D

The jumpers configuration in Gotek drive now are:

. . J5
.=. JA
. . JC
. . JB
.=. S0
. . S1
.=. M0

The green led is always lit, but the "disk change" is working, the trick to work is:
- Press Enter in MC-50 inmediatly after select the number of disk in Gotek. (This is RPM System diskette when you wanr create another compatible disk).

Another trick to format disks without the "ERROR 22" in the end of the format is:
- Create a custom floppy in HxCFloppyEmulator Software with
Bitrate=265000
RPM=300

I don't Know why... maybe some one can explain why...

Thanks for all...

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7596
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

Post by Jeff »

I think that i know why.

jasr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 5:35 pm

Re: Change disk emulation in Roland MC-50

Post by jasr »

Please tell us why..

I make a 720KB empty disk with

250000 bit rate
290 RPM

and this work too. The MC-50 Format very well.
The final file size is 2041KB

The format is very slow comparing with real floppy
In any RPM is this normal?..

Thanks.

Post Reply