Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

HxC Floppy Emulator Roland Samplers/Keyboards support
Post Reply
Gwpt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:37 am

Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Gwpt »

Hi,
I've just updated the firmware on my SD Rev C unit which is inside a Roland S330

It works fine with .hfe files.
I read on a forum that the latest version of the firmware allows for .out / .img files to be loaded directly without conversion.

So I placed a few files on an SD but they do not show up (the .hfe ones do)

Am I missing a step?
Thanks! :)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

The SD Rev C doesn't have the 3.X.X.X firmwares support.

Gwpt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Gwpt »

Arghh, drats. ok. I assume 'and never will' :)

So only the drive style Rev Fs I assume would support that then?
thanks
Guy

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

Gwpt wrote:
Mon Aug 31, 2020 1:44 pm
Arghh, drats. ok. I assume 'and never will' :)

So only the drive style Rev Fs I assume would support that then?
thanks
Guy
no, neither :D. In the next hardware version for sure.
But why you need .out / .img direct support for s330 ? I suppose that the whole available .out collection can be batch converted in one run ?

Gwpt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Gwpt »

Hi Jeff,
Interesting. There must be misinformation on the roland forum then, as people are saying they can do it already!

The reason it is interesting, is that someone is writing an editor for the s330/s550 which directly reads/writes .img/out format. So being able to load directly would cut out the conversion step in the middle.

Any idea when the new hardware might be available? Any more info on it? :)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

Gwpt wrote:
Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:09 pm
Hi Jeff,
Interesting. There must be misinformation on the roland forum then, as people are saying they can do it already!
No they are right : These people are using this : https://hxc2001.com/store/index.html

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

Gwpt wrote:
Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:09 pm
Any idea when the new hardware might be available? Any more info on it? :)
Can't tell exactly. The design is done since several years, but Lotharek seems to be quite happy with the classic HxC ( and regarding the sale rate, he is probably right :D ).

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

Gwpt wrote:
Mon Aug 31, 2020 11:09 pm
The reason it is interesting, is that someone is writing an editor for the s330/s550 which directly reads/writes .img/out format. So being able to load directly would cut out the conversion step in the middle.
Then the problem can be solved easily : there is a library / command line tool to convert the hfe or access to the sector inside the hfe. The editor can definitively add the HFE support quite easily.

Have you a specific example ? I may have a look to add this support.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

If you are talking about this :

https://tapesforkids.neocities.org/r-explore.html

Then the HFE support can be added very easily ;)

Gwpt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Gwpt »

Haha, yes I was!
You don't miss a beat! :) :) Nice...

What would be the best way to assist the developer in adding HFE support. Do you have docs I could give them.
I would love it to support it !

Gwpt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Gwpt »

is this still valid?

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... format.pdf

if so,
do you know what the appropriate header values are for the Roland disks?

Thanks
Guy

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7252
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Jeff »

Gwpt wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:36 pm
is this still valid?

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... format.pdf

if so,
do you know what the appropriate header values are for the Roland disks?

Thanks
Guy
yes this still valid. But you don't have to bother with this. the hxcfe.exe tool allow you to convert file in command line : this mean you can convert the file automatically from the editor tool.

Gwpt
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:37 am

Re: Can i load .out/.img file directly without converting to .hfe?

Post by Gwpt »

perfect. thanks :)

Post Reply