Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

General discussion forum - for all that doesn't fit in any other category.
glenn.szymanski
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:56 pm

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by glenn.szymanski »

CoolColJ wrote:
This one will on OSX
http://www-acad.sheridanc.on.ca/~degazi ... esign.html


What I did was get the drive, dump all my patches to Vl1 and then to Sounddiver and use that instead
CoolColJ wrote:

I don't think it's my browser, I tried Safari and Firefox, but I don't think that OSX one is still there, I get this message when I click it...

The requested URL /~degazio/AboutMeFolder/SoftwareDesign/VL ONE70 ReadMe.txt was not found on this server.

I emailed the guy, but who knows if I'll hear back.

Is sounddiver only available in OS 9?

CoolColJ
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:47 pm

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by CoolColJ »

glenn.szymanski wrote:
CoolColJ wrote:
This one will on OSX
http://www-acad.sheridanc.on.ca/~degazi ... esign.html


What I did was get the drive, dump all my patches to Vl1 and then to Sounddiver and use that instead
CoolColJ wrote:

I don't think it's my browser, I tried Safari and Firefox, but I don't think that OSX one is still there, I get this message when I click it...

The requested URL /~degazio/AboutMeFolder/SoftwareDesign/VL ONE70 ReadMe.txt was not found on this server.

I emailed the guy, but who knows if I'll hear back.

Is sounddiver only available in OS 9?
Links are broken

Soundiver is available on Windows and OSX - can't buy it anymore.

Since the VL1 can do manual sysex dumps, you can just use an sysex recording software and save the dumps to a file.
And manually dump back to the Vl1, either as a bank or patch

glenn.szymanski
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:56 pm

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by glenn.szymanski »

CoolColJ wrote:
Soundiver is available on Windows and OSX - can't buy it anymore.

Since the VL1 can do manual sysex dumps, you can just use an sysex recording software and save the dumps to a file.
And manually dump back to the Vl1, either as a bank or patch
Where can I find Sounddiver for OSX?

I've never worked with sysex messages before (all i know is that it means system exclusive), I use Logic Pro 9 on a Macbook Pro running OS 10.6.4. Can I use Logic to do this?

Are the voice and bank files on Ken Barry's archive considered sysex files?

I also saw this program...

http://www.snoize.com/SysExLibrarian/

CoolColJ
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:47 pm

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by CoolColJ »

glenn.szymanski wrote:
CoolColJ wrote:
Soundiver is available on Windows and OSX - can't buy it anymore.

Since the VL1 can do manual sysex dumps, you can just use an sysex recording software and save the dumps to a file.
And manually dump back to the Vl1, either as a bank or patch
Where can I find Sounddiver for OSX?

I've never worked with sysex messages before (all i know is that it means system exclusive), I use Logic Pro 9 on a Macbook Pro running OS 10.6.4. Can I use Logic to do this?

Are the voice and bank files on Ken Barry's archive considered sysex files?

I also saw this program...

http://www.snoize.com/SysExLibrarian/
Google?
I'm a windows guy so I don't know anything about OSX, but Soundiver has not been developed in years and Emagic was bought out by Apple and Soundiver was dumped.
Don't know Logic, but it should be able to do it, but your better off with a dedicated program for simplicity

All those files on Ken Barry's site are native VL1 files, so you can't read them as sysex.
You either copy them to a PC formated floppy disk and put it into the VL1 drive and read it
or load it into the Yamaha software or that OSX program and send it as sysex to the VL1

johndoes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 10:20 am

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by johndoes »

I hope I post in the right section. I want to replace my dead FD drive in my Yamaha VL7... and Jeff link from 1st page of this thread take me to a page shows "Plik obrazu nie istnieje". Can I find and buy a drive emulator or better, a 34 to 26 adapter in order to use an ordinary drive in my synth? I even bought a new belt for the old drive, it didn't worked....Thanks in advance!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7259
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by Jeff »

johndoes wrote:I hope I post in the right section. I want to replace my dead FD drive in my Yamaha VL7... and Jeff link from 1st page of this thread take me to a page shows "Plik obrazu nie istnieje". Can I find and buy a drive emulator or better, a 34 to 26 adapter in order to use an ordinary drive in my synth? I even bought a new belt for the old drive, it didn't worked....Thanks in advance!
https://lotharek.pl/productdetail.php?id=39

It use a 1mm connection spacing on the flex. Just make sure that this is the same on the VL7

johndoes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 10:20 am

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by johndoes »

Thanks for quick response :) So no chance for adapter only? (the price is similar with a new replacement floppy drive, not sure if I'm ready to invest in such an old synth). VL7 had absolutely the same parts as VL1, that's why I posted here.

mshakeshaft
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:46 pm

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by mshakeshaft »

Did anyone ever get this to work? I have a Yamaha VL1-M and the floppy has finally given up. It is probably just a case of replacing the rubber band this this seems a more permanent solution.

Thanks

Martin

CoolColJ
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:47 pm

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by CoolColJ »

mshakeshaft wrote:Did anyone ever get this to work? I have a Yamaha VL1-M and the floppy has finally given up. It is probably just a case of replacing the rubber band this this seems a more permanent solution.

Thanks

Martin
I just ended up buying a beltless replacement floppy drive from Ebay....
The person selling them basically retrofitted a a different connetor board on it.

I suppose you could just use a similar thing on this and other Flash to Floppy devices

captain.cookie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 1:49 am

Re: Yamaha VL1 floppy drive - different kind of connector

Post by captain.cookie »

Jeff wrote:
Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:20 am
https://lotharek.pl/productdetail.php?id=39

It use a 1mm connection spacing on the flex. Just make sure that this is the same on the VL7
Above URL is not working but anyhow, the spacing on the flex is not 1mm but a non-standard 1.25mm, therefore you'll need a 26 to 34 pin adaptor you can find on ebay.
Gotek reference : SFR1M44-DU26 will NOT work as well.

Fred

Post Reply