Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

HxC Floppy emulator support for all others Keyboards/Samplers...
Post Reply
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Jeff »

I believe you need a third party software for this since the FZ-1 doesn't use a standard dos floppy format.

This subject was discussed there :
https://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtop ... 8&start=45

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

thanks


Can we all plead and beg for
http://undecyclenate.neocities.org/

to release this software?

Id pay him 150 use for it, or more.

Forget transferring. Just saving to fzf would be worth it
It's a painful thing to see and not be able to use

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

ok, last question. Im selling y Casio Fz and I want to load the sd card with all the fzf and fab files I can. I think I collected as many as I could. Can I put them straight onto the sd card in osx finder or do I need to use HXC floppy emu app ? A lot of files are in folders. Do I have to go into each and everyone and select each file or is there a faster way? Thanks!

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

Does not appear to be an easy way to transfer fzb files. Really relies on hxc software support. I tried transferring over midid with some shitty old xp software. That dixd not work.

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

I made a zip of my sd card for the hxc if anyone cares. Link will expire soon

http://www.mediafire.com/file/99s9lz4kw ... C.zip/file

uge
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2020 12:23 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by uge »

Hello there, sorry if I'm asking something previously asked.

I have a Casio FZ-1 with a Gotek with three-digit LED display. I've installed HxC last firmware. Everything seems to work fine since I can save and load my own sounds in the USB stick using some "Empty001.hfe" file I've downloaded from the internet.

The problem is that I can't load any library on it. I've tried changing names to DSKA0001.hfe, I've also tried other formats like *.fzf but I can't load any sound. When I copy some of these sounds in the stick the Casio says "File not found" or "Disk Error".

The Gotek is showing "nor" in the display. (Which after reading I assume is in normal mode) so it doesn't any *.cfg file in the stick.

Do I need to put something in the stick that I could be don't doing?

Please any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Jeff »

uge wrote:
Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:56 am
Hello there, sorry if I'm asking something previously asked.

I have a Casio FZ-1 with a Gotek with three-digit LED display. I've installed HxC last firmware. Everything seems to work fine since I can save and load my own sounds in the USB stick using some "Empty001.hfe" file I've downloaded from the internet.

The problem is that I can't load any library on it. I've tried changing names to DSKA0001.hfe, I've also tried other formats like *.fzf but I can't load any sound. When I copy some of these sounds in the stick the Casio says "File not found" or "Disk Error".

The Gotek is showing "nor" in the display. (Which after reading I assume is in normal mode) so it doesn't any *.cfg file in the stick.

Do I need to put something in the stick that I could be don't doing?

Please any help with this would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683&p=11486#p18293
Jeff wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:11 pm
:arrow: This doesn't work : I see "Nor" on the display when inserting the USB stick

The emulator is in "NORmal mode".

Since you don't have any OLED or LCD screen, you need to use the indexed mode or the "autoboot"/file selector mode if you have an Amiga/Atari ST/CPC.

- In indexed mode you must use the indexed config file and name the files images DSKA0000.XXX, DSKA0001.XXX, DSKA0002.XXX (replace XXX by the original file extension.)

- In "autoboot"/file selector mode you must use the "autoboot"/file selector config file and the autoboot.hfe available for your machine. The images selection is done with a file selector software (autoboot.hfe) to set the "slots" (supported on Atari ST, Amiga, CPC).

See the usage page for more details.

The HXCSDFE.CFG config files and autoboot.hfe files are in the firmware archive.

Robber
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:39 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Robber »

marfemarf wrote:
Sun Dec 22, 2019 1:06 am
I made a zip of my sd card for the hxc if anyone cares. Link will expire soon

http://www.mediafire.com/file/99s9lz4kw ... C.zip/file
Hi, marfemarf, I downloaded your HFE files, thanks for those. But some are just like mine 3281KB an others are 3445KB. The FZ-1 with HxC floppy Rev-F accepts both formats, how come? I use the CASIO FZ1 Predefined Disklay out for the FZ when exporting them.

N.B. Some files ask for 'next disk' but I don't see any, to save and load files over 1400KB you have to use 2 HFE disks 'A' and 'B' just as with the original floppydrive.

http://forum.vintagesynth.com/viewtopic ... 30#p726482

Robber
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:39 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Robber »

Hi,
take a look at this:

http://zine.r-massive.com/casio-fz-sampler-archive/

Utilities
Casio FZ-1 IMG2FZF v0.1

Automatically convert Casio FZ disk images (IMG & HFE) to FZF format for use with Awave Studio or the ancient ‘fzdump’ utility.

Casio FZF2IMG & FZF2HFE v0.1

Automatically convert all supplied FZF files to FZ compatible HFE and IMG disk images. Supports subfolders, and maintains original filenames (no annoying double extensions).

Only for the Casio FZ

Also Play Back Tool:
Playbacktool.zip
(26.85 KiB) Downloaded 36 times
it's an HFE file made with HxC and not the utils above because Playbacktool is not a genuine FZF file.


Thanx to Swissdoc
http://www.swissdoc.de/download/FZplayback.zip

N.B. you need an external keyboard or sequenser for recording, not the FZ keyboard.

Robber
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:39 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Robber »

ahaigh01 wrote:
Fri Jun 24, 2016 8:35 pm

I am able to create floppy images from .FZF files that work - no problem. My question is, can you go the other direction? Get the .FZF file out of a .HFE image on the PC? I would like to do this to get .FZF files from floppies onto the PC - I have been using MIDI which is very slow.

FZ10 with floppy drive -->full dump to FZ-1 over "high speed cable" and save to HxC --> Put SD card in PC and extract the .FZF

Does the HxC Floppy Emulator software do this? Thanks
Hi ahaig, I've found a prog that does it, it extracts FZF and IMG files from HFE but I don't know who wrote it:

http://zine.r-massive.com/casio-fz-sampler-archive/

Robber
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:39 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Robber »

Hello,

FYI, thanks to Dmitri the aftermarket display for the Casio FZ-1 and VZ-1 has reached its completion.
Two colors are available: green and amber and in the near future perhaps RGB.

https://www.yamahamusicians.com/forum/v ... 170#p94170

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YPLTknaEhLI

Post Reply