korg Triton Gotek usb floppy emulator questions

HxC Floppy emulator support for all others Keyboards/Samplers...
Post Reply
luckyluca
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:03 pm

korg Triton Gotek usb floppy emulator questions

Post by luckyluca »

Hi,

I'm about to purchase a Korg Triton Classic and wanted to upgrade the floppy drive.

I'm planning to buy this one
and install the HxC firmware.

I have a couple of questions:
- what jumper settings should I use?
- would I need to bend the original korg floppy disk-drive cage in order to make the gotek fit inside?
- would any usb2/3 usbkey work?

Many thanks!
L

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7723
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: korg Triton Gotek usb floppy emulator questions

Post by Jeff »

Hello,
luckyluca wrote:
Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:10 pm
- what jumper settings should I use?
S1
luckyluca wrote:
Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:10 pm
- would I need to bend the original korg floppy disk-drive cage in order to make the gotek fit inside?
I don't know but i don't think you need to do this.
luckyluca wrote:
Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:10 pm
- would any usb2/3 usbkey work?
Yes

luckyluca
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2021 2:03 pm

Re: korg Triton Gotek usb floppy emulator questions

Post by luckyluca »

Great, many thanks!

One quick question, the seller replied earlier this morning and suggested using two jumpers, S1 and JC at the rear, rather than one, S1, see:
"There are only two important jumpers. I think Triton uses a regular PC floppy drive so you need jumpers at locations S1 and JC at the rear of the Gotek.
PCB is SFRKC30AT3 which uses the LQFP48 package Artery chip. This is compatible with HxC."


Can you confirm I would only need one, S1?
And that model is compatible with your firmware, yet to be purchased. And to install the firmware I would just need a usbkey?
And is there any difference in using a usb3 or usb2 usbkey?

Thanks again!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7723
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: korg Triton Gotek usb floppy emulator questions

Post by Jeff »

Yes only S1 is needed. The interface mode is selected by software.
And yes the firmware can be installed with an usb stick.
No particular difference between usb2 and usb3 usbkey : The gotek usb stick port is 1.1 ;)

Post Reply