Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

HxC Floppy emulator support for all others Keyboards/Samplers...
Post Reply
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Jeff »

marfemarf wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:30 pm
What is the format? right click what file in the card and choose what formatting? How do I format an hfe file? HELP SOS
Format the image on the Casio FZ-1 itself !

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

ah, ok. thanks

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

Last question, is it possible to put a wav or aiff file onto an hfe w/ a modern Mac and put it on the SD card? I’d like to make samples from the computer if possible. Hope I make sense. Thanks

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

Id like to use sound designer and turbosynth on my OSX BasiliskII emulator to make wav or aiff files and turn them into hfe files. Basically just want to create sounds on my Mac and get them on the sd card for the fz1. Would be great to save loop points too. Sound designer in 1.5 and turbosynth both have FZ-1 as s supported sampler.

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

easier question. Can you take a wav file and put it on the sd card for the fz-1 with an iMac or PC?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Jeff »

The Casio FZ-1 use a custom file system. So to be able to do this you need to write a software/library able to browse and modify this file system. I am not sure if the specifications of the Casio FZ-1 file system are available somewhere. Maybe there is some tools available to do what you want somewhere ?

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

So not omnifloppy

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

there isn't really any dedicated FZ-1 software


Looked around apparently Awave studio supports fzf

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

Ok, Im able to convert wav to fzf with Awave, how do I turn the fzf to an hfe file? Sorry for all the questions

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

Well, I found some old windows XP software that will transfer files. Should be easier way

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »


ghostinthemachine
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:36 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by ghostinthemachine »

Hi,

i have a problem with my FZ10m. I Installed a Gotek with HXC Software and if there is no USB in the Emulator the Sampler will not boot. It boots only when i put a USB Stick in the Emulator. Any Ideas?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7090
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Jeff »

ghostinthemachine wrote:
Thu Sep 26, 2019 11:45 am
Hi,

i have a problem with my FZ10m. I Installed a Gotek with HXC Software and if there is no USB in the Emulator the Sampler will not boot. It boots only when i put a USB Stick in the Emulator. Any Ideas?
Have you tested the gotek with the diagnostic firmware as suggested in the previous thread ? :

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=3668&p=21002#p21003

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

In order to make a complex sound on the fz-1, With layering and key groups etc. What is the best way to get samples form a computer onto the Casio and make those sounds? Say I have some sample. How do I edit it properly so I know it's going to work on the Casio? Would the best way be via those old Xp midi transfer softwares Where you can transfer a file onto the Casio?

How would I edit a sample so it will fit and work on the sd card from a modern Mac?
And If I want to use that sample for a more complex sound can I use it then delete the original hfe?

marfemarf
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:10 am

Re: Casio FZ-1 and HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by marfemarf »

I guess I had a bit of trouble conveying my thought.

Post Reply