How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

HxC Floppy Emulator Ensoniq Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

hello folks!

just got me a EPS 16+ last week. it came with a Lotharek drive. There where all kinds of cool sounds and effects in .HFE format on the SD... ok well now i found a good batch of samples and effects that are not on the card yet, and they are in .EFE format. i have tried all kinds of exports and EFE2HFE programs ect. i get a working .HFE image that the EPS16 reads, but all the .HFE images i try to make are empty for some reason.

any step by step instructions how to make working .HFE files out of the .EFE files i have?
the HxC emulator has the latest OS. My PC does not have a floppy drive.

thanks!

-michael

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

Have you tried this ? :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... FE2HFE.zip

Code: Select all

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------H----H--X----X-----CCCCC----22222----0000-----0000------11----------
----------H----H----X-X-----C--------------2---0----0---0----0--1--1-----------
---------HHHHHH-----X------C----------22222---0----0---0----0-----1------------
--------H----H----X--X----C----------2-------0----0---0----0-----1-------------
-------H----H---X-----X---CCCCC-----222222----0000-----0000----1111------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------------------- http://hxc2001.com --
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                          EPS EFE TO HFE Converter
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                             Release 07/17/2013
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Usage :

-> Put in the folder INPUT_EFE your EFE files.
-> Start convert_efe_to_hfe.bat
-> Get your HxC Floppy Emulator disk images (HFE) in the OUTPUT_HFE folder !

Note : OS Required Windows 98/Windows 2000/ XP / Vista (32bits) / Seven (32bits)

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

yes i have. like i described earlier, that one creates working .HFE images that the EPS16+ reads,
but it reads them as empty discs. "no instruments" "no effects" ect.

the filesize is also a bit different to the files that work.
that converter creates files that are 1961 kb, when the fully working ones are 2001 kb

oh, but the the demofiles that where in the output folder do work.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

crc wrote:yes i have. like i described earlier, that one creates working .HFE images that the EPS16+ reads,
but it reads them as empty discs. "no instruments" "no effects" ect.

the filesize is also a bit different to the files that work.
that converter creates files that are 1961 kb, when the fully working ones are 2001 kb

oh, but the the demofiles that where in the output folder do work.
i need to make it work. What is your OS ? Have you tried to move the whole folder to the root of your pc ? ( c:\ )

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

windows vista. what folder do i have to put to c:\ ?`
Jeff wrote:
crc wrote:yes i have. like i described earlier, that one creates working .HFE images that the EPS16+ reads,
but it reads them as empty discs. "no instruments" "no effects" ect.

the filesize is also a bit different to the files that work.
that converter creates files that are 1961 kb, when the fully working ones are 2001 kb

oh, but the the demofiles that where in the output folder do work.
i need to make it work. What is your OS ? Have you tried to move the whole folder to the root of your pc ? ( c:\ )

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

crc wrote:windows vista. what folder do i have to put to c:\ ?`
vista 32bits or 64bits?

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

vista 32bits
Jeff wrote:
crc wrote:windows vista. what folder do i have to put to c:\ ?`
vista 32bits or 64bits?

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

i would really love to get this working!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

crc wrote:i would really love to get this working!
Need more logs...

But i think that it will be quicker if i do the conversion for you...
Just make a zip of all files to be converted, and add a link to it here.

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

here you go. very kind of you! let me know when you have downloaded the file.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/3543499/ToJeff.zip
Jeff wrote:
crc wrote:i would really love to get this working!
Need more logs...

But i think that it will be quicker if i do the conversion for you...
Just make a zip of all files to be converted, and add a link to it here.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

crc wrote:here you go. very kind of you! let me know when you have downloaded the file.
Here it is :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... UT_HFE.zip

Let me know if all is ok.

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

thanks jeff.

tried out the files, but the problem remains the same.
my EPS16+ reads the .HFE files, but all the files are empty.
"No Instruments" "No Effect Files"
Jeff wrote:
crc wrote:here you go. very kind of you! let me know when you have downloaded the file.
Here it is :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... UT_HFE.zip

Let me know if all is ok.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

TOPPAZ.hfe, SR LOCUTOR.hfe, are also empty?

crc
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 1:17 pm

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by crc »

yes actually those files work. how do those two differ from the rest?
Jeff wrote:TOPPAZ.hfe, SR LOCUTOR.hfe, are also empty?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7910
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: How to make working .HFE disk images for EPS16+?

Post by Jeff »

crc wrote:yes actually those files work. how do those two differ from the rest?
Jeff wrote:TOPPAZ.hfe, SR LOCUTOR.hfe, are also empty?
In the zip : the packed size is bigger than the non-working files.
Will check what is going on with the non working ones...

Post Reply