SP1200 with external cased HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

HxC Floppy Emulator E-mu SP1200 support
12bitski
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:58 pm

Re: SP1200 with external cased HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by 12bitski »

Mix-club wrote:Here you can see the switch and the 3 wires, I removed the tape to be more clear
Don´t change the wiring of your switch. If I get you right, the last plug is inverted. So try to take the plug off from the cable. It´s a bit difficult, but it can be done.

Then install it like the second plug is installed :) .
Last edited by 12bitski on Wed Jan 18, 2017 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mix-club
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:17 pm

Re: SP1200 with external cased HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Mix-club »

Well my plug is like the one you used, the black ASUS on your first pictures page 1:
From line 10 to 16, the wires are inverted between the 2nd and 3 rd plug.
Did you use like like that? Because I can not see any cable cut on your picture.

I unsolder the switch to check the wiring with no switch: same thing: HXC is working but not the floppy ...????same message: disk not formatted.
So the wiring on the 3rd plug is correct, wiring to the SP is the issue....

Have you checked my wiring? Well did I cut the correct cable?
What I did is:
-cut line 10 from the first plug.
-the cable coming from the main board to the middle pin of the switch.
-the other part solde to the right pin of the switch
-cut line 10 from the 2nd plug ( which become line 16 on the 3rd one)
- the cable from the 2nd plug to the cut: not connected
-the cable from the cut to the 3rd plug , soldered to the 3rd pin of the switch.

Am I right???

12bitski
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:58 pm

Re: SP1200 with external cased HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by 12bitski »

Mix-club wrote:Well my plug is like the one you used, the black ASUS on your first pictures page 1:
From line 10 to 16, the wires are inverted between the 2nd and 3 rd plug.
Did you use like like that? Because I can not see any cable cut on your picture.

I unsolder the switch to check the wiring with no switch: same thing: HXC is working but not the floppy ...????same message: disk not formatted.
So the wiring on the 3rd plug is correct, wiring to the SP is the issue....

Have you checked my wiring? Well did I cut the correct cable?
What I did is:
-cut line 10 from the first plug.
Correct! :)
Mix-club wrote: -the cable coming from the main board to the middle pin of the switch.
Correct! :)
Mix-club wrote: -the other part solde to the right pin of the switch
Correct! :)
Mix-club wrote: -cut line 10 from the 2nd plug ( which become line 16 on the 3rd one)
correct, but first re-invert wire 10 to 16 on 3rd plug to have the same connection of the plug to the wire like on the other plugs. Otherwise you´ll get these error-messages.
Mix-club wrote: - the cable from the 2nd plug to the cut: not connected
Correct! :)
Mix-club wrote: -the cable from the cut to the 3rd plug , soldered to the 3rd pin of the switch.
Correct! :) You got it!
Mix-club wrote: Am I right???
(Sorry, I Edited this entry again now as I have some cables here with the same wiring you got (inverted wires 10 to 16.)

Your connections to the switch were right.

I mean, you found the issue already. All plugs have to be connected to the cable the same way. You found out, one of the plugs is installed invert (wire 10 to 16). So you need to re-invert the wires 10 to 16 and install it to the plug the same way the other plugs are and it should work.
What means:
Open the plug that has the inverted wires (Be really carefull with opening the connection not to break off some parts. Use a very small screwdriver) , take off the inverted wires from the plugs metal-contact and put it back to the contact like the 2nd plug is connected to the wires.

Try that and let us know, if it worked :) .

Here are some pics I took just to show how to re-invert the cable.
Attachments
The plug with the inverted wires 10 to 16
The plug with the inverted wires 10 to 16
IMG_3068.JPG (90.22 KiB) Viewed 2914 times
Open up the plug (very carefully)
Open up the plug (very carefully)
IMG_3069.JPG (65.18 KiB) Viewed 2914 times
Now you can take off the wires 10 to 16 from the plug.
Now you can take off the wires 10 to 16 from the plug.
IMG_3070.JPG (87.67 KiB) Viewed 2914 times

12bitski
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:58 pm

Re: SP1200 with external cased HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by 12bitski »

Here are the final 3 pics of the re-inverted floppycable.
Attachments
Wires taken off and be twisted back.
Wires taken off and be twisted back.
IMG_3071.JPG (76.52 KiB) Viewed 2913 times
Wires put back to the plug untwisted.
Wires put back to the plug untwisted.
IMG_3072.JPG (85.65 KiB) Viewed 2913 times
Plug reassembled
Plug reassembled
IMG_3073.JPG (87.98 KiB) Viewed 2913 times

Mix-club
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:17 pm

Re: SP1200 with external cased HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

Post by Mix-club »

This is it!!!!
Finally it's working perfectly !
That's right, my inverted twisted floppycable was the issue.
I opened the plug and reinstall the 6 cables and then it works!
No more error message!
I just can't find load correctly my floppy with an error/data message but I tried with the original floppycable and it's the same, so the floppy is the problem.
Thank you SO SO SO much for your help.
You were very helpful and kind enough to take some time to help and answer me.
Much respect !

Post Reply