SP1200 with Gotek HxC

HxC Floppy Emulator E-mu SP1200 support
Post Reply
vout
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 11:56 am

SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by vout »

Hi,

Anyone succesfully using a HxC flashed Gotek with the SP1200? I tried to get it to work, but it will only read from the USB drive, not write. I've tried it with several USB memory sticks, no luck. Loading from the drive works perfectly and it is a bit faster than the old floppy, so if I can just get it to write it would be perfect. Any suggestions?

Cheers, vout

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff »

vout wrote:Hi,

Anyone succesfully using a HxC flashed Gotek with the SP1200? I tried to get it to work, but it will only read from the USB drive, not write. I've tried it with several USB memory sticks, no luck. Loading from the drive works perfectly and it is a bit faster than the old floppy, so if I can just get it to write it would be perfect. Any suggestions?

Cheers, vout
a classic SD HxC is recommended for this ;)

vout
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 11:56 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by vout »

Hi Jeff,

Sorry, forgot I'd posted this and just saw your reply. Is it likely that the SP1200 can be supported as other Emu samplers are? (Emax, Emulator etc) or is this an SP1200 or Gotek problem.

Cheers, vout

t4796
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:35 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by t4796 »

I'm having the same writing issues.

The SP1200 says 'NoDataTransfered' whenever you try and save anything.
Formatting a disk alternates between 'Read/VerifyError' and 'DiskNotFormatted'

Interested to know if any of the emulator guys are having any success.

Is there any possibility of getting this fixed? Is there anything I can do to help?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff »

Please at least share one written hfe file after the error.

t4796
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:35 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by t4796 »

Thanks for the reply Jeff.

Here are the images as requested:

http://www.filedropper.com/sp1200gotektestingt4796

1. I have tried to save sequences (results in 'nodatatransfered' message)
2. I have tried to save sounds (results in 'nodatatransfered' message)
3. I have tried to format (actually the format completed with no error on screen, took about 2.5mins can't remember how long a real disk takes)
4. I have tried to format then copy software (results in 'read/verifyerror' message)

Before each test I have used the same config file (it is in the zip file) and I have copied the original disk image DSKA0000.HFE back to the drive.

For the sequences and sounds, after I try each one it no longer loads that part on bootup. Say for example I run the save sounds, after reboot it will say 'loading sequences' then it will fail with a 'no data transfered' message when trying to load the sounds and vice versa.

I hope I explained all the properly :)

t4796
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:35 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by t4796 »

Further to this. I tried about 5 different USB sticks with the same results.
Also I saw others reporting success with hard disks, so I connected a 2.5inch external and it is exactly the same result with only loading working, and any write operations corrupting the disk.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff »

I have checked your hfe files, and for sure this is a firmware issue.
I will try to fix it and send you some alpha version to try. Once you confirm that this is working, i will release it. (I don't have any SP1200/ E-mu machine here :/ )

vout
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 11:56 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by vout »

This is good news, thanks for trying to fix this Jeff. I am happy to help if you need more testing.

Cheers, vout

t4796
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:35 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by t4796 »

thanks for checking out my files and for the reply Jeff. happy to test.

seasinz
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2016 11:38 pm

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by seasinz »

Has there been any progress made on this?
I'd be more than happy to test if it would help.

t4796
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:35 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by t4796 »

I haven't had any reply so far. Jeff?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff »

An new update is available.
Someone can try it and check that it solve this issue or not ?

t4796
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 8:35 am

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by t4796 »

I tried with the latest update and it still will not save.

Mauro Tarelli
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 11:25 pm

Re: SP1200 with Gotek HxC

Post by Mauro Tarelli »

I'm trying with the new firmware and I have the same problems.
I hope that work well in a future.
Thank for the effort

Post Reply