HxCmount official thread

HxC Floppy Emulator on Atari ST support
Post Reply
megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

HxCmount official thread

Post by megar » Fri May 13, 2011 10:55 am

HXC mount is released. It is a utitily that allow to use the HxC Floppy Emulator as a hard disk. An hard disk image file must sit in the root of the SDcard, and be named "IMG*.IMA". Actually, once loaded, the floppy is replaced by a new partition (C: as example).
It has been tested on Atari STE and Falcon with TOS 1.62, 2.6 and 4.04.

Current version: v1.00

Information and download : http://hxcmount.atomas.com/
The package includes two 32MB image files : an empty one and a "example" partition with some tools, games, demos I had on my real Ataris.

Questions : here.
Last edited by megar on Fri May 13, 2011 3:52 pm, edited 3 times in total.

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HXC mount

Post by megar » Fri May 13, 2011 10:55 am

(reserved)

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HXC mount

Post by megar » Fri May 13, 2011 10:56 am

(reserved for release history)

endre1952
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:07 pm

Re: HXC mount

Post by endre1952 » Fri May 13, 2011 1:58 pm

Does not work on my ST 1040. Not sure about the actual TOS version, but it's from 1989.

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HXC mount

Post by megar » Fri May 13, 2011 2:10 pm

Please describe your problem. What the main program tells before exiting ?

endre1952
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:07 pm

Re: HXC mount

Post by endre1952 » Fri May 13, 2011 2:21 pm

The program loads properly. "Success. New drive mounted as C:...Push any key". After pressing a key, I get an OS message "Laufwerk mit dieser Kennung unbekannt!", which means something like Drive is unrecognizable or the straight Babelfish translation "Drive assembly with this identification unknown!". When I double-click on Floppy A, I get the same message.

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HXC mount

Post by megar » Fri May 13, 2011 2:40 pm

This is normal. Please read the "How to use" last paragraph (beginning with "If the driver loads correctly..."). You have to create a new icon.

endre1952
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:07 pm

Re: HXC mount

Post by endre1952 » Fri May 13, 2011 3:06 pm

Thanks! It works now.

jokker
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 7:31 am

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by jokker » Sat May 14, 2011 2:32 am

I can confirm it also worked with a Mega ST2 running TOS 1.02 with no problems.

pulkomandy
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by pulkomandy » Sat May 14, 2011 1:30 pm

Another question on this : will it work with the HxC plugged as drive B (external) ? In this case, will drive A still work as a regular floppy ?
And is it possible to do the reverse : drive A as hard disk, drive B as real floppy drive ?

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by megar » Sat May 14, 2011 1:40 pm

pulkomandy wrote:Another question on this : will it work with the HxC plugged as drive B (external) ? In this case, will drive A still work as a regular floppy ?
And is it possible to do the reverse : drive A as hard disk, drive B as real floppy drive ?
It is not currently possible. The driver assumes that the Floppy Emulator is A:, and is the only floppy on the system.

Will add your request on the To-Do List.

pulkomandy
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by pulkomandy » Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:09 pm

So, is the TODO list making some progress ? :)

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by megar » Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:51 pm

Hi.

I'm currently in holidays, I will have some free time, so I will be able to complete some features on the list. I began to work on a way to create image files, and to break the 32 MB limit. At the present time, the driver cannot manage image files bigger than 32 MB, because it doesn't handle sectors bigger than 512 bytes.

pulkomandy
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:55 pm

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by pulkomandy » Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:04 pm

Hi,
So, I finally installed a drive swap switch in my Atari STe. Now I can use my external HxC as drive A.
However, I tried to install HxCmount and it doesn't work.

what I did :
* format SD card
* copy IMA file on it
* copy all other files (settings, and various floppy images)
* insert SD card in HxC
* boot Atari
* start HXCMOUNT.PRG

Result: 4 bombs, then back to desktop.

This is a 520STe with 4MB RAM upgrade. Appears to work fine with other things.
Did I miss something ?

megar
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am

Re: HxCmount official thread

Post by megar » Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:34 pm

Did you see some messages ? The driver should display some text even before trying to connect to HxC.
Maybe there was an error when you transfered the file, or a deficient SD card ?

Post Reply