HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

HxC Floppy Drive Emulator general information and news
It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 7:17 am

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HxCmount official thread
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
HXC mount is released. It is a utitily that allow to use the HxC Floppy Emulator as a hard disk. An hard disk image file must sit in the root of the SDcard, and be named "IMG*.IMA". Actually, once loaded, the floppy is replaced by a new partition (C: as example).
It has been tested on Atari STE and Falcon with TOS 1.62, 2.6 and 4.04.

Current version: v1.00

Information and download : http://hxcmount.atomas.com/
The package includes two 32MB image files : an empty one and a "example" partition with some tools, games, demos I had on my real Ataris.

Questions : here.


Last edited by megar on Fri May 13, 2011 3:52 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
(reserved)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
(reserved for release history)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 1:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 26
Does not work on my ST 1040. Not sure about the actual TOS version, but it's from 1989.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
Please describe your problem. What the main program tells before exiting ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 26
The program loads properly. "Success. New drive mounted as C:...Push any key". After pressing a key, I get an OS message "Laufwerk mit dieser Kennung unbekannt!", which means something like Drive is unrecognizable or the straight Babelfish translation "Drive assembly with this identification unknown!". When I double-click on Floppy A, I get the same message.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 2:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
This is normal. Please read the "How to use" last paragraph (beginning with "If the driver loads correctly..."). You have to create a new icon.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: HXC mount
PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2011 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 26
Thanks! It works now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 2:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 23, 2011 7:31 am
Posts: 4
I can confirm it also worked with a Mega ST2 running TOS 1.02 with no problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 1:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 132
Another question on this : will it work with the HxC plugged as drive B (external) ? In this case, will drive A still work as a regular floppy ?
And is it possible to do the reverse : drive A as hard disk, drive B as real floppy drive ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
pulkomandy wrote:
Another question on this : will it work with the HxC plugged as drive B (external) ? In this case, will drive A still work as a regular floppy ?
And is it possible to do the reverse : drive A as hard disk, drive B as real floppy drive ?


It is not currently possible. The driver assumes that the Floppy Emulator is A:, and is the only floppy on the system.

Will add your request on the To-Do List.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 4:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 132
So, is the TODO list making some progress ? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 10:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
Hi.

I'm currently in holidays, I will have some free time, so I will be able to complete some features on the list. I began to work on a way to create image files, and to break the 32 MB limit. At the present time, the driver cannot manage image files bigger than 32 MB, because it doesn't handle sectors bigger than 512 bytes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:55 pm
Posts: 132
Hi,
So, I finally installed a drive swap switch in my Atari STe. Now I can use my external HxC as drive A.
However, I tried to install HxCmount and it doesn't work.

what I did :
* format SD card
* copy IMA file on it
* copy all other files (settings, and various floppy images)
* insert SD card in HxC
* boot Atari
* start HXCMOUNT.PRG

Result: 4 bombs, then back to desktop.

This is a 520STe with 4MB RAM upgrade. Appears to work fine with other things.
Did I miss something ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2012 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 20
Did you see some messages ? The driver should display some text even before trying to connect to HxC.
Maybe there was an error when you transfered the file, or a deficient SD card ?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group