GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

HxC Floppy emulator support for all others Keyboards/Samplers...
Post Reply
Rob Ocelot
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:22 am

GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Rob Ocelot » Sun Jan 27, 2013 5:19 am

Any possibility of Generalmusic S2 and S3 support?

They use 1.44MB disks but use non-standard formatting to get 1.6MB per disk.

I have some sample images in the S2/S3 .td0 format and also images that were converted into Omniflop .img files

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:04 pm

Rob Ocelot wrote:Any possibility of Generalmusic S2 and S3 support?

They use 1.44MB disks but use non-standard formatting to get 1.6MB per disk.

I have some sample images in the S2/S3 .td0 format and also images that were converted into Omniflop .img files
Probably already working : just convert your TD0 files to HFE.
That's all.

Rob Ocelot
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:22 am

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Rob Ocelot » Wed Feb 13, 2013 10:39 am

I'm not having any luck recognizing a d0 image directly converted to HxE format.

From the S2 schematics here's the pinouts and quoted directly:

"Note: The Connector is inverted on disk drive
Disk drive pin numbers are shown before the signal name"

BUS NAME CONNECTOR
34 -- Disk CH -- 01
32 -- Side-Sel -- 03
30 -- RD-DATA -- 05
28 -- WR-Pr -- 07
26 -- Track-00 -- 09
24 -- WR-Gate -- 11
22 -- WR-Data -- 13
20 -- Step -- 15
18 -- Dir-Sel -- 17
16 -- Motor On -- 19
14 -- DS-2 -- 21
12 -- DA-1 -- 23
10 -- DS-0 -- 25
08 -- Index-sector -- 27
07 -- DS-3 -- 29
04 -- not conn -- 31
02 -- not conn -- 33

Even connector pins are grounded to digital ground.

Do I have to invert the cable going into the HxC?

Seems like I have to invert it but the cable connector has a notch. Would it be better to make my own cable with the notch inverted or is it easier to file off the notch from my existing cable?

It's kind of puzzling that GEM (or if the rumors are true, Elka) inverted the bus pins *twice*, once on the board and again at the drive.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:24 pm

Rob Ocelot wrote:I

Even connector pins are grounded to digital ground.

Do I have to invert the cable going into the HxC?
Yes probably. If you see all hxc leds always on and the "RA" message, you probably need to invert it.

Rob Ocelot
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:22 am

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Rob Ocelot » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:30 am

Hi Jeff,

Reversing the drive cable worked for the most part but I'm having problems reading disk images. The HxC software correctly recognizes files in the .d0 format but the S2 refuses to see it as a legitimate disk. It recognizes a drive attached and you can hear tracking sounds but track numbers on the HxC don't advance.

I've tried reverse cable jumper settings for both IBM and Shugart modes and still no luck.

I also tried an IBM 1.44MB disk image and that doesn't work either.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Sun Feb 17, 2013 10:27 am

Rob Ocelot wrote:Hi Jeff,

Reversing the drive cable worked for the most part but I'm having problems reading disk images. The HxC software correctly recognizes files in the .d0 format but the S2 refuses to see it as a legitimate disk. It recognizes a drive attached and you can hear tracking sounds but track numbers on the HxC don't advance.

I've tried reverse cable jumper settings for both IBM and Shugart modes and still no luck.

I also tried an IBM 1.44MB disk image and that doesn't work either.
Which image file are you using ?

Rob Ocelot
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 5:22 am

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Rob Ocelot » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:42 pm

I'm using .hxc files converted from S2 .d0 images using beta HxC software 2.092. The 1.44MB IBM disk image was also created by HxC 2.092's 'create FS floppy' function.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Sun Feb 17, 2013 11:24 pm

Rob Ocelot wrote:I'm using .hxc files converted from S2 .d0 images using beta HxC software 2.092. The 1.44MB IBM disk image was also created by HxC 2.092's 'create FS floppy' function.
Can you send me some of them ?

ipogeo
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:29 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by ipogeo » Sat Apr 30, 2016 1:14 pm

I recently ordered a HxC2001 compatible Gotek emulator at
http://www.ebay.it/itm/Gotek-USB-Floppy ... Sw~gRVgfq9

Then I:

- Converted all my S3 Floppy .TD0 image files to .HFE format and copied them tu an USB stick root.

- Installed Gotek Hardware into my GEM S3 machine

- Updated it using last version HXCFEUSB_HFE_V3_0_8_1a.upd

- At first I noticed that the Gotek was unable to select anything and finally discovered that my (3 digit display and 2 swiches) hardware is compatible ONLY with the "Indexed_mode" config File

- Changed accordingy the config File and renamed my HFE files using the "DSKA0000.HFE" pattern

- Finally Gotek became able to select the .HFE files (with some limitations...) but still my S3 wasn't able to see anything ("no disk inserted")

- Casually discovered that there are "QuickInstall_FloppyDiskImages" available on the website and that two S3 .HFE files are included.

- Eventually tried successfully to read-write these HFE images on my S3!

- Other .HFE images (converted from .TD0 images) are still invisible to S3

- Newly created .HFE images (dumped from floppies) are still invisible to S3

- All my not working .HFE files were created or converted by HxC Floppy Emulator vers. 2.1.4.0

- Newly created MSDOS 1.44 floppy .HFE images are perfectly working on my S3 for .wav and midifile importing options

Any ideas?

gemfreak
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:01 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by gemfreak » Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:09 pm

Are there any news for the support of the GEM S2/S3 and Turbo Workstations?

Thank you for any hint getting the floppy emulator working on theese machines (with the 1,6 MB format).

All the best!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:31 am

gemfreak wrote:Are there any news for the support of the GEM S2/S3 and Turbo Workstations?

Thank you for any hint getting the floppy emulator working on theese machines (with the 1,6 MB format).

All the best!
It works for sure with these machines and formats.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:33 am

ipogeo wrote:I recently ordered a HxC2001 compatible Gotek emulator at
http://www.ebay.it/itm/Gotek-USB-Floppy ... Sw~gRVgfq9

Then I:

- Converted all my S3 Floppy .TD0 image files to .HFE format and copied them tu an USB stick root.

- Installed Gotek Hardware into my GEM S3 machine

- Updated it using last version HXCFEUSB_HFE_V3_0_8_1a.upd

- At first I noticed that the Gotek was unable to select anything and finally discovered that my (3 digit display and 2 swiches) hardware is compatible ONLY with the "Indexed_mode" config File

- Changed accordingy the config File and renamed my HFE files using the "DSKA0000.HFE" pattern

- Finally Gotek became able to select the .HFE files (with some limitations...) but still my S3 wasn't able to see anything ("no disk inserted")

- Casually discovered that there are "QuickInstall_FloppyDiskImages" available on the website and that two S3 .HFE files are included.

- Eventually tried successfully to read-write these HFE images on my S3!

- Other .HFE images (converted from .TD0 images) are still invisible to S3

- Newly created .HFE images (dumped from floppies) are still invisible to S3

- All my not working .HFE files were created or converted by HxC Floppy Emulator vers. 2.1.4.0

- Newly created MSDOS 1.44 floppy .HFE images are perfectly working on my S3 for .wav and midifile importing options

Any ideas?
Check the interface mode of the HFE files, or force it into the cfg file.

marzzz
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by marzzz » Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:14 pm

Recently acquired a GeneralMusic S3 (non-Turbo) that I will be using as a MIDI controller. Any updates as to which emulator works properly? I will just be using it to format a drive to save settings, not looking to convert or load floppy data. Thx!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5743
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:22 am

marzzz wrote:
Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:14 pm
Recently acquired a GeneralMusic S3 (non-Turbo) that I will be using as a MIDI controller. Any updates as to which emulator works properly? I will just be using it to format a drive to save settings, not looking to convert or load floppy data. Thx!
All HxC Floppy Emulators are working with the Gem S2/S3.

marzzz
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by marzzz » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:01 am

So is it literally plug-and-play? What about what I am reading above about reversing the cable? Are there any tutorials regarding the installation process?

Thanks!

Post Reply