HxC Floppy Drive Emulator

HxC Floppy Drive Emulator general information and news
It is currently Tue Mar 28, 2017 12:15 pm

All times are UTC + 2 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: osborne 1
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 1:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:44 pm
Posts: 4
Has anyone successfully used the floppy emulator on an Osborne 1?

The pinouts listed in the Osborne 1 tech manual (page 37 / 7.3 "DISK CONTROLLER AND PINOUTS") are not standard.
The most obvious difference is that whereas a standard shugart pinout has all odd pins being GND, the O1 has +12v on 11,13,15,17 and +5v on 21,23,25. That could be worked around easily enough by just snipping out those wires.

But pins 6 & 34 are also different - the O1 labels these as EARLY/LATE rather than the standard 6 being NC and 34 being READY.

I have a O1 in storage that I got from ebay and was never able to boot (whether due to bad drives or bad disks) so am interested in trying the HxC SDCard Floppy Emulator but want to know whether it's a lost cause.

Cheers

Jonno


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 3:13 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 4524
Location: Paris
jonnosan wrote:
Has anyone successfully used the floppy emulator on an Osborne 1?

The pinouts listed in the Osborne 1 tech manual (page 37 / 7.3 "DISK CONTROLLER AND PINOUTS") are not standard.
The most obvious difference is that whereas a standard shugart pinout has all odd pins being GND, the O1 has +12v on 11,13,15,17 and +5v on 21,23,25. That could be worked around easily enough by just snipping out those wires.

But pins 6 & 34 are also different - the O1 labels these as EARLY/LATE rather than the standard 6 being NC and 34 being READY.

I have a O1 in storage that I got from ebay and was never able to boot (whether due to bad drives or bad disks) so am interested in trying the HxC SDCard Floppy Emulator but want to know whether it's a lost cause.

Cheers

Jonno


The "EARLY/LATE" seems mean that there are a PLL into the original ffloppy disk drive. Do you have the schematic of the Osborne ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 10:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:44 pm
Posts: 4
Jeff wrote:
Do you have the schematic of the Osborne ?


There are schematics in the technical manual, which can be downloaded from http://bitsavers.org/pdf/osborne/osborne1/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 4524
Location: Paris
jonnosan wrote:
Jeff wrote:
Do you have the schematic of the Osborne ?


There are schematics in the technical manual, which can be downloaded from http://bitsavers.org/pdf/osborne/osborne1/


Thanks.
This should works without problem. Just leave "EARLY" "LATE" (the write precomp controls lines), TG43 and CLOCK unconnected. The HxC Floppy Emulator don't need them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2011 1:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:44 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks

I have placed my order, will report back once it's arrived and I've tested it out


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2011 2:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 4524
Location: Paris
jonnosan wrote:
Thanks

I have placed my order, will report back once it's arrived and I've tested it out


Of course be very with the power supply lines present on the floppy cable :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 9:35 am
Posts: 180
Location: Poland
and I confirm Your order was posted ;-)

_________________
..... Atari Roxxx !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 1:44 pm
Posts: 4
Just to explain why no update - my osborne 1 let out the magic smoke before I put the emulator in :-(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:54 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 4524
Location: Paris
jonnosan wrote:
Just to explain why no update - my osborne 1 let out the magic smoke before I put the emulator in :-(


Dead capacitors ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:25 am
Posts: 3
This post is old but the right topic ;)

Is there anyone who can explain how I am able to read a disk with an Osborne 1? (SD)

In my documentation I found this facts:
Osborne 1 Format (102kByte)
SSSD 40Tracks, 10 Sectors a 256Byte
Standard FM

or

204k
SSDD 40 Tracks, 5 Sectors a 1024Byte
MFM

I only get errors if I try to boot or read from a selfmade HFE-file (made it from a .td0 with the batch converter)

Thanks,
Thomas

(I own the Lotharek SD-Card-Drive)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 7:53 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 4524
Location: Paris
You may need to activate the double step support. This can be done into the embedded menu on the emulator (remove the sd, press select).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:04 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Posts: 4524
Location: Paris
Support directly done on the guenner's Osborne 1 at the Classic Computing 2015 :) .
So to make it works, just don't connect the SIDE signals. For some reasons this signals coming from the Osborne is switching randomly. Since this machine seems to support only single-sided drive, don't connect this signal is not an issue.

Attachment:
SAM_0257.jpg
SAM_0257.jpg [ 181.7 KiB | Viewed 2507 times ]


(Note : Double step setting is NOT needed with this machine)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: osborne 1
PostPosted: Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 9:25 am
Posts: 3
I'm really happy about my working Osborne with the HXC Emulator.

Very many thanks to Jeff's work yesterday and of course the last years! This is really important support for our community.

Thanks,
Thomas

[EDIT] This is the list with the osborne1, where the status have to be changed to "Working": http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... upport.htm ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group