Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

HxC Floppy Emulator on Amstrad CPC support
Post Reply
Remy13
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:20 pm

Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

Post by Remy13 » Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:24 pm

Dear colleagues,

I'm new in this forum, I've just purchased a Gotek and I'm using the HxC selector on the Amstrad.

I can only pre-select 15 slots while the device should handle 1000.

I think I'm missing something here, can you please help me?

Thanks

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6143
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

Post by Jeff » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:00 am

Remy13 wrote:
Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:24 pm
Dear colleagues,

I'm new in this forum, I've just purchased a Gotek and I'm using the HxC selector on the Amstrad.

I can only pre-select 15 slots while the device should handle 1000.

I think I'm missing something here, can you please help me?

Thanks
Yes : Don't use the selector and add a I2C or OLED screen ;)

EDIT : Other possibility : Use the Windows/Linux version to assign your files :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... rmware.zip

Remy13
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 8:20 pm

Re: Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

Post by Remy13 » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:53 pm

Thanks Jeff,

I'm already having an OLED screen.

I will check your link.

Cheers

Remy

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6143
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

Post by Jeff » Tue Jan 16, 2018 11:56 pm

Remy13 wrote:
Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:53 pm
Thanks Jeff,

I'm already having an OLED screen.

I will check your link.

Cheers

Remy
In this case just use the "normal" mode ! :)

dakeyboy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:13 pm

Re: Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

Post by dakeyboy » Tue Feb 05, 2019 6:21 pm

I have this same issue and I believe from above that I can use the Windows software to allocate more than 15 slots. The question I have is how you do this. I did a degree in Computing and I cannot work out how to do this from the help text file. I am using a Gotek drive.
If I run the command "HXCFEMNG.exe -disk:F: -setslots:mylist.txt" does the mylist.txt file need to be on the USB or in the folder for HXCFEMNG.exe?

Do I need to format the USB before using this program?

Also I have followed the instructions to install the CDM21228_Setup.exe D2XX drivers, but when running the HxCFloppyEmulator.exe Windows program I just get the message - FTDI D2XX Driver not installed! What am I doing wrong??

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6143
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Nb of slots on Amstrad ? Limited to 15 ??

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 06, 2019 10:24 pm

What is displayed on the emulator screen without stick inserted ?

Post Reply