Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

HxC Floppy Emulator on IBM PC and compatible support
Post Reply
keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Fri Feb 14, 2020 8:50 pm

HxCFEUSB_V3_4_10_10a firmware version.

I've downloaded the Trackstar 128 utility disk kyroflux image from:

https://www.diskman.com/presents/tracks ... m_disk.zip

I've loaded that image into HxCFloppyEmulator 2.2.3.1 and then exported to HFE, HFE Stream, HFE V3 formats and copied to a USB stick as disk 3 in INDEXED mode.

Boot disk 0 works, empty disk 1 works, empty disk 2 works, but the copy protected disk 3 reports "Not ready error reading drive B".

Occasionally it will allow "dir" command to list the five files on the disk image before reporting "Not ready error reading drive B", but I'm still unable to execute the files.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Fri Feb 14, 2020 10:54 pm

Yes it does, but where is the disk 3 ??

keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:22 am

Sorry I meant I have three disk images on the USB key inserted into my hxc gotek. One is a generic boot disk, one is an empty disk, and dska0003.hfe is the 360kb trackstar utility disk.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:42 am

keenerb wrote:
Sat Feb 15, 2020 12:22 am
Sorry I meant I have three disk images on the USB key inserted into my hxc gotek. One is a generic boot disk, one is an empty disk, and dska0003.hfe is the 360kb trackstar utility disk.
Is it normal to have some Apple II tracks on this ISO MFM floppy disk ?

keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:51 am

Probably. It is an apple emulator for xt computers so it wouldnt surprise me.

keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:08 am

Didn't have any more luck with this today. SHOULD this be working, or is there something tricky about this copy protection?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Sun Feb 16, 2020 12:45 pm

keenerb wrote:
Sun Feb 16, 2020 3:08 am
Didn't have any more luck with this today. SHOULD this be working, or is there something tricky about this copy protection?
This should works but there is an issue with the hxc stream analyser with Apple II gcr tracks. This need to be fixed to properly convert them to hfe.

keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Sun Feb 16, 2020 4:39 pm

Excellent, thanks. Does this bug apply to other apple disk conversions?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Mon Feb 17, 2020 9:05 am

keenerb wrote:
Sun Feb 16, 2020 4:39 pm
Excellent, thanks. Does this bug apply to other apple disk conversions?
No, only to stream based imports (SCP, Kryoflux, Pauline/HxC Stream...)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 19, 2020 1:00 am


keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:47 am

No luck. Still get errors on my HXC gotek.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 19, 2020 7:33 pm

keenerb wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:47 am
No luck. Still get errors on my HXC gotek.
At which track ?

keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:22 pm

I'm not sure how I can tell. WHen I switch to that image I simply get abort/retry/fail errors even for "dir *.*"
Last edited by keenerb on Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

keenerb
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by keenerb » Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:44 pm

7 segments screen : display track position

Should I turn that on and get a custom firmware?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6987
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Does GoTek support copy-protected HFE images?

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 19, 2020 11:44 pm

keenerb wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:44 pm
7 segments screen : display track position

Should I turn that on and get a custom firmware?
yes if you don't have any oled/lcd.

Post Reply