SCP to ADF conversion error

HxC Floppy Emulator on Amiga support
Post Reply
Pitou
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:05 pm

SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Pitou » Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:10 pm

Hello,

I made some .SCP files from original standard Amiga disks and they boot and read fine in WinUAE.

However, when I convert them to .ADF using HxC Floppy Emu software, it gives a read/write error in WinUAE at some point when booting.

I tried with the Workbench 1.3 as an example.

Any idea?

Thank you.

Pitou!

AW99
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:37 pm

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by AW99 » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:24 am

Maybe some of these original disks have something like a copy-protection which then can not be converted to a normal adf-file? Similar problem when you try to convert some ipf-files to adf.

Pitou
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:05 pm

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Pitou » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:47 am

I specifically said that these were Amiga *standard* disks. The workbench 1.3 is an example.

So, no copy protection involved here.

Pitou!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:53 am

Pitou wrote:
Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:47 am
I specifically said that these were Amiga *standard* disks. The workbench 1.3 is an example.

So, no copy protection involved here.

Pitou!
Share the scp, otherwise i can't say what is going on...

Pitou
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:05 pm

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Pitou » Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:38 pm


Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Jeff » Wed Feb 21, 2018 10:54 pm

Pitou wrote:
Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:38 pm
Here it is...

https://ufile.io/rmmze
This a 2 revolutions dump. To make a proper analysis and import the software need at least 3 revolutions.

Pitou
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 10:05 pm

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Pitou » Wed Feb 21, 2018 11:16 pm

Yes it is a 2 rev image.

Ok, I didn't know that.

Thank you very much.

Pitou!

JimDrew
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:52 am

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by JimDrew » Tue May 01, 2018 7:09 am

Hi Jeff... it seems that you don't convert .scp Amiga 1760K (high density) disk images to .adf format correctly. They are treated as 880K disks. The track analyzer works and identifies all 22 sectors for each track, but the export to .adf just generates 11 sectors per track. Is there a way to force the export to be high density?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Jeff » Tue May 01, 2018 2:47 pm

JimDrew wrote:
Tue May 01, 2018 7:09 am
Hi Jeff... it seems that you don't convert .scp Amiga 1760K (high density) disk images to .adf format correctly. They are treated as 880K disks. The track analyzer works and identifies all 22 sectors for each track, but the export to .adf just generates 11 sectors per track. Is there a way to force the export to be high density?
To help please share one of these scp.

JimDrew
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:52 am

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by JimDrew » Tue May 01, 2018 7:01 pm

Sure! Here is a link to a 1760K image made using SPLICE mode (2 revs).

http://www.cbmstuff.com/temp/s1.zip

Your track examiner works perfectly and you can see all 22 sectors for each track. When I do the export to .ADF it only exports 11 of the 22 sectors per track! :)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by Jeff » Thu May 03, 2018 11:30 am

JimDrew wrote:
Tue May 01, 2018 7:01 pm
Sure! Here is a link to a 1760K image made using SPLICE mode (2 revs).

http://www.cbmstuff.com/temp/s1.zip

Your track examiner works perfectly and you can see all 22 sectors for each track. When I do the export to .ADF it only exports 11 of the 22 sectors per track! :)
Thanks. This is fixed on the repository but there is another problem to fix in the analyser with 2 revs images.

JimDrew
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:52 am

Re: SCP to ADF conversion error

Post by JimDrew » Thu May 03, 2018 8:05 pm

Thanks for the update. I will wait for you to post a new Windows version for testing.

Post Reply