Connect HxC to A1200 External Floppy Port

HxC Floppy Emulator on Amiga support
stevendt

Connect HxC to A1200 External Floppy Port

Post by stevendt »

Hi,

I am new to the Amiga, but would like to connect HxC to the external floppy port of my "new" A1200.

Apart from the fact that the Amiga has a 23 way D connector, can someone tell me how to connect HxC to the floppy port? For example, if I get an old Amiga floppy cable, can I just connect it to HxC?

The crucial question is probably whether the Amiga expects to see a standard Shugart floppy disk interface, or is any special wiring required?

regards
Dave

Arnie

Re: Connect HxC to A1200 External Floppy Port

Post by Arnie »

I used an old external floppy drive and replaced the drive with the HXC (SLIM). It works O.K but I could only use one of the emulated drives, DF1:, DF2: wouldn't show up.

stevendt

Post by stevendt »

Hi Arne,

thanks for the info.

Has anyone got a way of keeping the internal floppy and using HxC as DF1 and DF2?

regards
Dave

Jeff
Site Admin

Post by Jeff »

stevendt wrote:Hi Arne,

thanks for the info.

Has anyone got a way of keeping the internal floppy and using HxC as DF1 and DF2?

regards
Dave
Just use the right external interface and the switch setting. This is just a DSx lines story.

stevendt

Post by stevendt »

Hi Jeff,

thanks for the reply, a couple of questions though please . . . .

You said "This is just a DSx lines story."

The HxC manual says "Unlike real floppy disk drive the SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator doesn't use the motor control line. So there are only one jumper to set per virtual disk drive. "

Atari ST / Amiga / Shugart jumper settings
ID line ID3 ID2 ID1 ID0
Host Line MTRON DS2 DS1 DS0
Function Motor On DF2 B: / DF1 A: / DF0

Can you explain what the MTRON entry in the table means ?

When you say, "Just use the right external interface ...... "
What did you mean by that?