Problem with OLED and Gotek

HxC Floppy Emulator on Amiga support
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:14 pm

dougal wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:12 pm
Jeff wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:18 pm
I have fixed some issues + change the oled detection. Let me know if this one is working.

http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE.UPD
OLED Init Delay has to be set to 3s and it works

Out of the box no oled display unless I set the init delay
Ok fine ! For the moment i will let it as is.

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:09 am

Hi I noticed some issues

The OLED does not always come on after the Amiga has been off for a while and I have to switch off/on again 1-3 or so for it to work [Since the latest update you gave me]

Also, sometimes I get a NO USB STICK error - It does not do it often and it does it even for example I was loading Relokick or Workbench and it gave an error (disk error on the Amiga) and then no usb stick and I had to remove the stick and re-insert it. The connections are all perfect and did not have this problem before. Its nothing major but best I mention it

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:15 am

dougal wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:09 am
Hi I noticed some issues

The OLED does not always come on after the Amiga has been off for a while and I have to switch off/on again 1-3 or so for it to work [Since the latest update you gave me]

Also, sometimes I get a NO USB STICK error - It does not do it often and it does it even for example I was loading Relokick or Workbench and it gave an error (disk error on the Amiga) and then no usb stick and I had to remove the stick and re-insert it. The connections are all perfect and did not have this problem before. Its nothing major but best I mention it

Ok will add a 4s seconds delay but this cold boot issue + the usb stick issue sound to be a power supply issue.
Have a look to the 2 latest post from this thread : http://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtopi ... =33&t=3239
This sound similar...

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:31 am

Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:15 am
Ok will add a 4s seconds delay but this cold boot issue + the usb stick issue sound to be a power supply issue.
Have a look to the 2 latest post from this thread : http://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtopi ... =33&t=3239
This sound similar...
My set-up was recently changed but I don't think it would affect it

It is an A500 Plus with Kickstart 2.04 and 2MB Chip memory (1024K on board + 1024K ram expansion)
The Gotek is inside an old external floppy drive replacing the FDD
I am using inside the Amiga a DF0 selector to make external floppy drive DF0
The PSU is original heavy type Amiga 500 PSU
The USB drive is a SanDisk 16GB

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:37 am

Same question as the other thread : Have you another power supply to test ?

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:44 am

Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:37 am
Same question as the other thread : Have you another power supply to test ?
Maybe. I will check later on in my garage where I keep my spare Amiga stuff.

Would checking the power supply with a multi meter help ?

[Note] The power supply is the same one I use for my A1200 which has hard drive (not compact flash) + blizzard 68030 accelerator card and it seems to handle itself well on that one.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:48 am

Try this one :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE2.UPD
And let me know if you still have these issues.
(4s and 5s delay added).

(v3.1.0.2a)

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:12 pm

Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:48 am
Try this one :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE2.UPD
And let me know if you still have these issues.
(4s and 5s delay added).

(v3.1.0.2a)
Thanks but still the same with regards the oled. It does not always work right away on a cold start.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:59 pm

dougal wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 4:12 pm
Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:48 am
Try this one :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE2.UPD
And let me know if you still have these issues.
(4s and 5s delay added).

(v3.1.0.2a)
Thanks but still the same with regards the oled. It does not always work right away on a cold start.
Have you set the delay to 5s ?
And about the other issue ?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:05 pm

Another attempt :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE.UPD
(v3.1.0.3a)

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:11 pm

Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:59 pm
Have you set the delay to 5s ?
And about the other issue ?
Yes I did. I also tried another power brick but same thing.

The other issue does not happen often. In the hour or so I used the Amiga it did not do it.

I will try the latest file soon and get back to you.

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:51 pm

Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:05 pm
Another attempt :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE.UPD
(v3.1.0.3a)
[EDIT] Sorry it still sometimes does not bring up the OLED when switched on. I will check the oled delay settings and try some more.
[EDIT2[ It did the No USB Stick error again - Remove usb and re-insert and its fine
--------------------------------------
So far it is working good. I did not even have to set the oled timer thing and its working.

I will keep testing as I have not tested long enough and will keep you posted

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:19 pm

dougal wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:51 pm
Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 6:05 pm
Another attempt :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/HxCUSBFE.UPD
(v3.1.0.3a)
[EDIT] Sorry it still sometimes does not bring up the OLED when switched on. I will check the oled delay settings and try some more.
[EDIT2[ It did the No USB Stick error again - Remove usb and re-insert and its fine
[EDIT3] Seems most of the time when I switch it on the OLED works but sometimes it won't. OLED INIT DELAY @ 5s
--------------------------------------
So far it is working good. I did not even have to set the oled timer thing and its working.

I will keep testing as I have not tested long enough and will keep you posted

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 4991
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:45 pm

Thanks for the tests. I suspect that these screens have not the the right pull-up resistors and/or a bad reset circuit. Maybe that this screen is designed to work under 5V ?. I need to have it to really solve the issue...

dougal
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 11:37 am

Re: Problem with OLED and Gotek

Post by dougal » Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:53 pm

Jeff wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 11:45 pm
Thanks for the tests. I suspect that these screens have not the the right pull-up resistors and/or a bad reset circuit. Maybe that this screen is designed to work under 5V ?. I need to have it to really solve the issue...
Seems like now it’s working 80-90% of the time when switched on from off. I will keep testing everything for the next few days and keep you updated.

When the other screen arrives I will compare them and test it. At that point I could send you this screen.

Post Reply