Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post Reply
agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 5:53 pm

Hi,

I have two S-50's, one with a regular floppy and one with a HXC flashed Gotek. Loading the OS from power on they both behave differently.

Both power on and display "ROLAND S-50 VER, 2,0" however when booting using the floppy drive, the patch and mode button LED's on the front panel of the S-50 illuminate almost immediately, and it starts loading the OS displaying a countdown of loading tracks.

The S-50 with the Gotek installed however hangs on the "ROLAND S-50 VER, 2,0" display (so it knows the hfe disk image contains OS version 2), but there is a 20 second delay before the patch and mode button LED's on the front panel of the S-50 illuminate.... and then it starts loading the OS.

Whats the possible cause of this 20 second delay?

Im using the latest HXC WIP firmware and only have selected the S0 jumper

Kind regards

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by Jeff » Fri Apr 26, 2019 6:33 pm

Is the S50 reading the disk during these 20 seconds ?

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:55 pm

Hi Jeff,

Yes It appears so, although the green light remains solid during loading?

I have done a side by side comparison between the floppy and the Gotek. The floppy drive spins and seeks during the panel LED lighting up process however I did discover sometimes not all the panel LED's illuminate at once and time can vary by a few seconds.

It would seem with the 720k floppy the S-50 searches the disk possibly to verify the integrity of it? It shows this by illuminating different LED's. once the S-50 is satisfied it illuminates all the LED's and OS loading begins.

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:04 pm

Ive just found this in the service notes, it checks for motor stability before loading the OS, I presume it cant check the Gotek motor for stability as it doesn't have one.

On a read or write command from the CPU, the FDC
pulls MOTOR ON low to let the FDD (Floppy Disk
Drive) starts the motor. When the motor running has
reached stable condition, the FDD signals the CPU
through I/O gate with a low READY. The low READY
allows the CPU to issue a command which enables read-
ing or writing to/from the disk.

In the read mode the FDC reads data from FDD in serial
format and sends it to the CPU in parallel 8 bits.

In the write mode the FDC first pulls and keeps WG high
and then places a data on WD line.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by Jeff » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:10 pm

mhh yes this may be the issue. The ready signal is not well emulated since the gotek doesn't have the "motor on" input signal.
Have you tried to tweak the config file floppy interface mode ?

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:46 pm

I have only tried to modify pin 34 in the custom option to no avail. I have attempted pin 34 "low" and "nReady" (no change). "high" or "Ready" just produces "please insert system disk".

are there any other options I can test?

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Fri Apr 26, 2019 8:49 pm

Does the M0 jumper not provide any functionality, I did try this too. could it be implemented?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:50 pm

Done. Try this :

https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/

Tick the "Non gated mode" checkbox,
Set "Motor input line" to "Floppy Select Line".
Set "Motor ON - Ready delay" to 400ms".
Set "Floppy Interface mode" to "SHUGART"

Request the new firmware (delivery time : ~5minutes)

On the gotek put the MO jumper and remove all others jumper.

update the gotek with the new firmware. Clear the internal eeprom settings.

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:02 pm

Hi Jeff, I did as you instructed but there is no change,

attached is the upd file I generated. I am using a standard auto cfg file is this correct?
Attachments
HxCUSBFE.UPD
(81.5 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:46 pm

agent29 wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:02 pm
Hi Jeff, I did as you instructed but there is no change,

attached is the upd file I generated. I am using a standard auto cfg file is this correct?
please share the file image you are using ?

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:14 pm

here is the file you requested.

It was created from the s-50 itself by formatting a blank disk then transferring the system to the disk. It was then imported and converted to hfe.
Attachments
DSKA0000.zip
(72.37 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:15 pm

agent29 wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:14 pm
here is the file you requested.

It was created from the s-50 itself by formatting a blank disk then transferring the system to the disk. It was then imported and converted to hfe.
can you format the hfe from the s50 and share the result too here ?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by Jeff » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:27 pm

agent29 wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:14 pm
here is the file you requested.

It was created from the s-50 itself by formatting a blank disk then transferring the system to the disk. It was then imported and converted to hfe.
well, it appears that the cylinder 0 side 1 track is just full of garbage. this may explains why the s50 take 20s to try to read it.
this image is corrupted.

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:39 pm

Here is a formatted hfe image with the system transferred, initialisation is still slow compared to floppy disks however the delay is now a much better 6 seconds instead of 20.
Attachments
DSKA0001.zip
(83.25 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

agent29
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun May 08, 2016 10:42 am

Re: Roland S-50 Sampler, strange initialising behavior with Gotek

Post by agent29 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:47 pm

What could have caused the image corruption? I created an image using sdisk.exe (roland image program) then loaded it as a raw is this correct or incorrect?

Post Reply