Single 'dash' on LED, No Boot after saving config in selector

Post Reply
displaced
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:02 pm

Single 'dash' on LED, No Boot after saving config in selector

Post by displaced » Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:07 pm

Hi,

I've got an HxC-flashed Gotek fitted internally on an Atari ST. It's using the Autoboot_mode CFG file with the Atari ST File selector.

HxC Firmware version 3.1.23.1a, Selector v1.89a

Games load and run absolutely fine, but I can consistently break the setup by doing the following:
  • Boot into the File Selector
  • Hit F3 to go into the settings menu
  • Turn on Eject at Power On
  • Exit settings menu
  • Hit F9 to save
  • Power off/on the system
At this point, the Gotek displays just a single - in the centre of the middle LED digit. The machine no longer sees the drive.

If I plug the USB drive into my computer and replace the HXCSDFE.CFG file with the original download, it then works correctly.

I've replicated this several flash drives, old and brand-new; generic and branded.

All files obtained from the HXCFEUSB_V3_1_23_1a beta firmware download ZIP.

Not sure if this is a known issue with the beta, but I'll try next with the WIP-version Selector and Firmware and report back.

Cheers,
Chris

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6763
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Single 'dash' on LED, No Boot after saving config in selector

Post by Jeff » Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:50 pm

The single - just mean that the image is ejected. press again both buttons to reinsert the image.
Since you have enabled "Eject at Power On" this is the normal behaviour.

displaced
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 4:02 pm

Re: Single 'dash' on LED, No Boot after saving config in selector

Post by displaced » Mon Jan 28, 2019 12:38 pm

Aaah! That makes sense - thank you!

I'm sure at some point I had it set up to return to disk 000 (the selector) after a reboot. I thought that was the setting to do so. I'll keep reading the docs and trying stuff!

(EDIT): Ah, of course -- I needed 'Load AUTOBOOT.HFE at power up' - sorted!

Cheers,
Chris

Post Reply