Serial Bridge not flashing

Post Reply
Beige
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:43 pm

Serial Bridge not flashing

Post by Beige » Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:09 am

An annoying little problem, I'm using Serial Bridge to flash a GoTek drive and it's not actually flashing…

The wiring is ok, tested successfully by flashing other firmware using ST's flash loader.

When running Serial Bridge it opens a COM port. On clicking connect it immediately starts incrementing the TX and RX value while using roughly 50KBps Tx and Rx on my internet connection. The status box says "Device detected (0 unit(s) left)" and never changes. Clicking Program doesn't do anything.

The lights on my FTDI adapter blink around twice a second.

After around 90 minutes the program stoped sending and receiving with the TX value of 34755, it varies quite a bit, but it's always somewhere near 40000.

On resetting the GoTek after removing the Boot0 jumper the previous firmware is still intact and runs.



I'm running Windows 7 32bit, I've also tried Win10 64bit with the same result.

Any ideas?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Serial Bridge not flashing

Post by Jeff » Fri Sep 14, 2018 6:44 am

The problem is :
Beige wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:09 am
The status box says "Device detected (0 unit(s) left)" and never changes. Clicking Program doesn't do anything.
This means that you have already flashed/used the license on one gotek before.
(EDIT : More precisely your license was flashed the Saturday 8 April 2017 at 00:29:34)
Have you purchased a new one since ? With another account maybe ?

Beige
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:43 pm

Re: Serial Bridge not flashing

Post by Beige » Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:59 am

Oh I see it's a single device licence, I hadn't realised, or if I did I'd long forgotten. A status message such as "Licence in use" or "No free licences" might have been useful, it didn't occur to me from the symptoms.

That makes me wander what would happen if I flash my first GoTek with other firmware, is Serial Bridge clever enough to let me reflash HxC? I'm assuming my licence is attached to the UID on the STM32.


Thanks for the reply, I do like speedy support.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Serial Bridge not flashing

Post by Jeff » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:56 am

Beige wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:59 am
Oh I see it's a single device licence, I hadn't realised, or if I did I'd long forgotten. A status message such as "Licence in use" or "No free licences" might have been useful, it didn't occur to me from the symptoms.
Yes of course at this price this is "a single device licence".
Beige wrote:
Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:59 am
That makes me wander what would happen if I flash my first GoTek with other firmware, is Serial Bridge clever enough to let me reflash HxC? I'm assuming my licence is attached to the UID on the STM32.
Technically this could be done, but this "feature" is not enabled.

Beige
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 11:43 pm

Re: Serial Bridge not flashing

Post by Beige » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:20 pm

As soon as you mentioned the licence the penny dropped, thanks.

I'll keep in mind not to flash my GoTek with HxC. Attaching the Licence to a UID does seem like a good idea, but if it's not implemented I guess it's not something that comes up all that often.

Post Reply