Gotek jumpers

Post Reply
aminesay
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:57 pm

Gotek jumpers

Post by aminesay » Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:42 am

Hi,

I was wondering if the flashing procedure could be adapted to floppy models (that look exactly like gotek) with different hardware.
The jumper section only exposes these pins:

Boot0. , Vdd , TX and RX.

The board runs with an stm32f105 and according to the datasheet there is no bootloader activation pattern available.

Any chances of flashing it some other way.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6766
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by Jeff » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:20 am

aminesay wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:42 am
Hi,

I was wondering if the flashing procedure could be adapted to floppy models (that look exactly like gotek) with different hardware.
The jumper section only exposes these pins:

Boot0. , Vdd , TX and RX.

The board runs with an stm32f105 and according to the datasheet there is no bootloader activation pattern available.

Any chances of flashing it some other way.
Can you post a picture of this hardware here ?

aminesay
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by aminesay » Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:43 am

Here you are.
IMG_20180824_093328-compressed.jpg
IMG_20180824_093328-compressed.jpg (62.35 KiB) Viewed 2795 times
I tried to access the swclk and swdio on the cpu to flash it using st-link with no luck.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6766
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by Jeff » Fri Aug 24, 2018 11:09 am

aminesay wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 10:43 am
Here you are.
IMG_20180824_093328-compressed.jpg
I tried to access the swclk and swdio on the cpu to flash it using st-link with no luck.
Interesting. This is definitively a Gotek hardware but look like the programming port is different.

the boot0 signal is not available at all ?

where did you get it ? Is it a recent purchase ?

I try to determine if this is just another gotek model or a new counter measure against non-gotek firmwares.

(I see a new connector "J10", what is this ?)

EDIT :
aminesay wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 1:42 am
The jumper section only exposes these pins:

Boot0. , Vdd , TX and RX.
Then this should be enough to program it. None of the tools available worked ?

aminesay
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by aminesay » Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:23 pm

It's a Chinese hardware from modo-king.

As I said boot0 is available. But I can't get the device to run the bootloader. Fiddling on the datasheet of the stm32f105 I noticed that the mcu with date below 937 (which is the case of my device) can't run the bootloader.


"Bootloader unavailability on STM32F105xx/STM32F107xx devices
with a date code below 937
Description
The bootloader cannot be used if the USART1_RX (PA10), USART2_RX (PD6, remapped),
CAN2_Rx (PB5, remapped), OTG_FS_DM (PA11), and/or OTG_FS_DP (PA12) pin(s) are
held low or left floating during the bootloader activation phase.
The bootloader cannot be connected through CAN2 (remapped), DFU (OTG FS in Device
mode), USART1 or USART2 (remapped).
On 64-pin packages, the USART2_RX signal remapped PD6 pin is not available and it is
internally grounded. In this case, the bootloader cannot be used at all.
Workaround
• For 64-pin packages
None. The bootloader cannot be used."


I have only tried to do the DFU flashing,
Could I use the TTl cable instead?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6766
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by Jeff » Fri Aug 24, 2018 5:53 pm

aminesay wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:23 pm
Could I use the TTl cable instead?
to do what ?

have you find a way to reprogram it ?

aminesay
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by aminesay » Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:02 pm

As I said I tried soldering two pins on the qfn package to reprogram it using St link but that's not easy. Ended up soldering pa13 with swclk and pa10 with swdio (the best I could with a regular solder).

That may explain why even the st-link did not detected the device.

Any other ideas or should i simply order a "real" gotek.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6766
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by Jeff » Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:16 am

aminesay wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 8:02 pm
As I said I tried soldering two pins on the qfn package to reprogram it using St link but that's not easy. Ended up soldering pa13 with swclk and pa10 with swdio (the best I could with a regular solder).

That may explain why even the st-link did not detected the device.

Any other ideas or should i simply order a "real" gotek.
The MCU was programmed successfully by the manufacturer. So one of the available connectors is there to do the job. i think that there is nothing to solder.

aminesay
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:57 pm

Re: Gotek jumpers

Post by aminesay » Sun Aug 26, 2018 1:22 pm

That's not forcibly the case.
That might have used a production programmer ( like this one http://www.algocraft.com/en/products/write-before-en
before soldering the chip (which is common for large quantities).

Anyway I reordered a new floppy double checking the jumpers rear section this time.

Post Reply