Yamah Disklavier

Post Reply
disklavier
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:06 pm

Yamah Disklavier

Post by disklavier » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:26 pm

Hello everyone,

We have a Yamah Disklavier (self playing piano) approx. 20 years old, in our family that plays midi from floppy disks. It includes piano pieces played and recorded on the piano by deceased relatives. I'm trying to replace the floppy drive by a Gotek USB simulator, the model I have bought is advertised as:

SFR1M44-U100K Black 3.5" 1.44MB USB SSD FLOPPY DRIVE EMULATOR for YAMAHA KORG ROLAND Electronic keyboard GOTEK

I have replaced the floppy drive with the Gotek drive, however the system does not seem to work. I have tried all/most jumper configurations on the back of the Gotek which has effects on the behavior of the system but does not lead to a working solution. The floppy drive in the piano is marked as:

TEAC FD-235HF A568 (P/N: 193077A5-68) (S/N: U758628)

Here is a picture of the jumper configuration of the floppy unit:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/IBc4KusjIrVPdEeA2

I have found some posts referring to HxC as a solution for there Yamaha electronic keyboards. I am by no means an expert in this area and would love to get some directions from you guys as how to get the Gotek working with my disklavier. Any ideas or pointers would be helpful.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:27 am

Have you the hxc firmware ?

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:42 pm

Hi,
I have the same problem. I Have GOTEK SFR1M44-U100K with hxc firmware (latest?). How to configure HXC for Yamaha disklavier?

Thanks

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:42 am

soundarea wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 11:42 pm
Hi,
I have the same problem. I Have GOTEK SFR1M44-U100K with hxc firmware (latest?). How to configure HXC for Yamaha disklavier?

Thanks
Are you sure ? Which firmware version ? What can you read on the emulator's display without usb stick inserted ?

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:25 pm

Hi, after power on without USB stick show display "hHc"
PS: Sorry for so late answer - I did not have notifications turned on.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Fri Feb 22, 2019 9:40 pm

soundarea wrote:
Fri Feb 22, 2019 3:25 pm
Hi, after power on without USB stick show display "hHc"
PS: Sorry for so late answer - I did not have notifications turned on.
Set the jumper to S0, and set the interface mode to shugart. Copy DOS 720KB HFE files to the stick and the indexed mode config file.

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... Images.zip

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Sat Feb 23, 2019 2:13 pm

OK, all done.
But how i exekute it?

If i put after all new usb stick formated with Bath manage tool v1.4O with 100 DD 720kb GOTEK show on display only "hHc" and after click on button "Fat".

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:25 pm

soundarea wrote:
Sat Feb 23, 2019 2:13 pm
OK, all done.
But how i exekute it?

If i put after all new usb stick formated with Bath manage tool v1.4O with 100 DD 720kb GOTEK show on display only "hHc" and after click on button "Fat".
No...
Please forget the "Bath manage tool v1.4O".
For the stick in FAT32 and copy the files to the stick directly.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Sat Feb 23, 2019 5:26 pm

Please have a look to this :
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683&p=11486#p16457

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:33 pm

Jeff,
menu must be

Menu 1 - Interface mode :

08 = GENERIC SHUGART DD
or
0C = EMU SHUGART???

and menu
Menu 4 - User interface mode :

02 = Indexed mode

RIGHT?

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:05 pm

Please see where I'm making a mistake.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ukyp0LSIAU4

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Sat Feb 23, 2019 9:00 pm

This seems fine to me on the video. (choose GENERIC SHUGART DD).
Is the stick formatted in FAT32 ?
If so can you try another usb stick ?

Also please reset the settings (press the right button at power up)

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Mon Feb 25, 2019 2:23 pm

Hi,
now yamaha show me "convert disk".
I can now change disk from 000 to 020 with button on GOTEK - USB stick with QuickInstall_FloppyDiskImages.

Code: Select all

https://photos.app.goo.gl/o2JkXgzVqML3f5L58
And if i put in GOTEK new FAT32 formated USB stick GOTEK show "Err"

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6144
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by Jeff » Mon Feb 25, 2019 7:33 pm

soundarea wrote:
Mon Feb 25, 2019 2:23 pm
Hi,
now yamaha show me "convert disk".
I can now change disk from 000 to 020 with button on GOTEK - USB stick with QuickInstall_FloppyDiskImages.

Code: Select all

https://photos.app.goo.gl/o2JkXgzVqML3f5L58
Sound better then. You probably need to format the image from Yamaha ? Have you tried this ?

soundarea
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 11:33 pm

Re: Yamah Disklavier

Post by soundarea » Tue Feb 26, 2019 1:25 am

With which software I can format USB stick for 1000 virtual DD disc?
Then I can try format it for Yamaha Disclavier.

Post Reply