Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

eeling
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:09 am

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by eeling » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:06 pm

I removed the DSKA0000.HFE & seems to be saving / loading ! I'm still a bit confused as to whether or not it's working but I've saved two short samples to 000 & loaded them back up !

eeling
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:09 am

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by eeling » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:09 pm

Here are images. i'm not sure if my cable has the twist or not.... rather it's bent at a 9 degree angle....

https://ibb.co/m7sqdS
https://ibb.co/daHOyS

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:10 pm

eeling wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:09 pm
Here are images. i'm not sure if my cable has the twist or not.... rather it's bent at a 9 degree angle....

https://ibb.co/m7sqdS
https://ibb.co/daHOyS
Ok the ribbon is normal. forget my comment about it ;)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:10 pm

eeling wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:06 pm
I removed the DSKA0000.HFE & seems to be saving / loading ! I'm still a bit confused as to whether or not it's working but I've saved two short samples to 000 & loaded them back up !
Ok please do some more tests and let me know.

eeling
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:09 am

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by eeling » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:22 pm

What capacity should I be able to save using the 0000.IMG ? Should I duplicate this file to make more - 0001,0002 etc?

Recorded 2x samples, about 3 -5 seconds each. When using 'Save All' I get the dreaded NoFo message...
When saving individually I couldn't get a full sample but only the second sample split over two tracks slots, possibly having overwritten the first?

eeling
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:09 am

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by eeling » Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:47 pm

I'm completely confused. Sometimes I'm able to save one or two samples, often I get FULL or NoFo.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff » Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:58 pm

eeling wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:22 pm
What capacity should I be able to save using the 0000.IMG ? Should I duplicate this file to make more - 0001,0002 etc?
1.6MB, like a floppy disk, but i can't tell how much seconds it is. Yes duplicate the DSKA0000.IMG several times and rename them DSKA0001.IMG, DSKA0002.IMG, DSKA0003.IMG. Remove the HFEs files having the same numbers.
eeling wrote:
Mon Mar 05, 2018 12:22 pm
Recorded 2x samples, about 3 -5 seconds each. When using 'Save All' I get the dreaded NoFo message...
When saving individually I couldn't get a full sample but only the second sample split over two tracks slots, possibly having overwritten the first?
On the .IMG ("000") file ? If so, have you tried another and different USB stick instead ?

Sound like there is an hardware problem (head stepping not working.?.). Is the old floppy drive working properly ?
(Fyi, the SD HxC Floppy Emulator seems to work "out-the-box" according to this feedback : http://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtopi ... S20#p12824, and i can just see some S20 sold with Gotek drive with the HxC firmware on ebay...)

I am interested by your failed HFE files : Please try to format one HFE file and write something on another one, and send me back them by email to hxc2001 <at> hxc2001.com

Please send me back the tested IMG files too.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff » Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:42 pm

Email received ! I sent you something to test.

EDIT: Feedback -> Issue Fixed with an firmware update ! :wink:

RaphaelP
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:41 am

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by RaphaelP » Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:49 am

Bonjour Jeff,
J'ai lu toute votre conversation avec eeling. J'ai un peu le même problème avec mon akai S20.
Serait-il possible de m'envoyer les fichiers que vous lui a envoyé s'il vous plait ? J'aimerai essayer. :)

En vous remerciant par avance.
Raph

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5746
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S-20 / Gotek HxC

Post by Jeff » Thu Apr 26, 2018 1:03 pm

RaphaelP wrote:
Thu Apr 26, 2018 8:49 am
Bonjour Jeff,
J'ai lu toute votre conversation avec eeling. J'ai un peu le même problème avec mon akai S20.
Serait-il possible de m'envoyer les fichiers que vous lui a envoyé s'il vous plait ? J'aimerai essayer. :)

En vous remerciant par avance.
Raph
Email transféré. :)

Post Reply