Firmware updates for the STM32/Gotek HxC floppy emulators !

Post Reply
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Fri Mar 08, 2019 11:52 am

8 March 2019 : Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.38.2a ( -> In the "WIP_Firmware" Folder and https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/)

- More customization options :

-> Raw file image/disk format selection.

-> You can now define your raw file image/disk format !

-> Floppy Interface modes.

-> https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... rmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... _notes.txt

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Sun Mar 10, 2019 5:14 pm

Hi,

The current customer firmware web page (https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/) for "Rotary type" settings seems to be wrong.

It has the following html code and type/mode allocations, which seems to be wrong:

Code: Select all

<select name="CONFIG_DEFAULT_ROTARYMODE">
  <option value="0xFF">Single step</option>
  <option value="0x0">Double step</option>
  <option value="0x1">Disable</option>
</select>
The default is Single step (type set to xFF) but I experienced double stepping, so I changed it to Double step (type set to 0x0) but this seems to disable the rotary stepping altogether. So I changed it to Disable (type set to 0x1) and it fixed my issue with double stepping.

Shouldn't the rotary type allocations be:

Disable (0x0)
Single step (0x1)
Double step (0xFF)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:02 pm

This is now fixed ! Thanks for the feedback !
(Please note that for some parameters you may need a "reset factory"/"clear eeprom" since they are recorded on the "eeprom" zone).

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Sun Mar 10, 2019 10:04 pm

10 March 2019 : Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.1.39.1a ( -> In the "WIP_Firmware" Folder and https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/)

- Indexed mode files naming convention enhanced :
-> DSKAXXXX become a prefix : You can now add something after the prefix. e.g : DSKA0000_MyDiskName.IMG, DSKA0001_SaveDisk.HFE...
-> The prefix can be changed on the customization page if you don't like it : https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/

- AUTOBOOT and config files names are now not case sensitive.

- And some more fixes (rotary settings...).

Customization page : https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... rmware.zip

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... _notes.txt

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:50 pm

Hi,

The customer firmware page (https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/) still seem to have:

Code: Select all

<select name="CONFIG_DEFAULT_ROTARYMODE">
  <option value="0xFF">Single step</option>
  <option value="0x0">Double step</option>
  <option value="0x1">Disable</option>
</select>
I haven't tried it, but it hasn't changed since last time. Did you just correct it in the firmware and these are actual values used?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:01 pm

solarmon wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:50 pm
Did you just correct it in the firmware and these are actual values used?
Exactly !

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:05 pm

Jeff wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:01 pm
solarmon wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:50 pm
Did you just correct it in the firmware and these are actual values used?
Exactly !
Hi,

Just been testing this and it does not seem to work for me - all three options seems to move on each detent (i.e. each rising and falling edge) of the rotary encoder.

So it doesn't matter which Rotary Type I choose, even 'Disable', it always skips a file.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:09 pm

solarmon wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 5:05 pm
Jeff wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 9:01 pm
solarmon wrote:
Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:50 pm
Did you just correct it in the firmware and these are actual values used?
Exactly !
Hi,

Just been testing this and it does not seem to work for me - all three options seems to move on each detent (i.e. each rising and falling edge) of the rotary encoder.

So it doesn't matter which Rotary Type I choose, even 'Disable', it always skips a file.
As i said earlier you need to clear the eeprom data to restore the factory values (the ones you have in your firmware).
You can clear them in with the menu, or by pressing the right button at power up.

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:37 pm

Jeff wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:09 pm
As i said earlier you need to clear the eeprom data to restore the factory values (the ones you have in your firmware).
You can clear them in with the menu, or by pressing the right button at power up.
I did do that, and have just done that again. But it does not make a difference - both clearing settings from menu or from power up.

Changing the 'Rotary' settings from the menu also does not make a difference. Even after selecting 'Disable', the rotary encoder continues to work, albeit still not working as expected. (I'm assuming 'Disable' means to disable the Rotary encoder completely).

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:46 am

solarmon wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:37 pm
Jeff wrote:
Tue Mar 12, 2019 9:09 pm
As i said earlier you need to clear the eeprom data to restore the factory values (the ones you have in your firmware).
You can clear them in with the menu, or by pressing the right button at power up.
I did do that, and have just done that again. But it does not make a difference - both clearing settings from menu or from power up.

Changing the 'Rotary' settings from the menu also does not make a difference. Even after selecting 'Disable', the rotary encoder continues to work, albeit still not working as expected. (I'm assuming 'Disable' means to disable the Rotary encoder completely).
This is very very weird. I have just retried myself the rotary settings and all appears to work fine. How is connected your rotary ?

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:54 am

Jeff wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 12:46 am
This is very very weird. I have just retried myself the rotary settings and all appears to work fine. How is connected your rotary ?
For the rotary encoder left/right directions, I've connected it up as per (i.e. DIR and CLK pins):

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683&p=11486#p17946

And for the rotary encoder switch it is connected as per (i.e. JA pins):

viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683&p=11486#p16461

The main difference is that I'm using an RBG rotary encoder, as per:

http://www.g7smy.co.uk/2015/01/rotary-e ... bSswrbcdlc

Image

So, for the switch part I had to use an RTL inverter circuit to invert the 3.3V or 5V switch signal. However, this is just for the switch button part of the rotary encoder, and should be different from the direction part.

The issue I'm having is the direction part of the Rotary encoder and there is only one way to connect that up - to the DIR and CLK pins. However, for the ground pin I have used the JB ground pin. I assume it does not matter which ground pin/point I use as long as the rotary encoder is connected to the DIR and CLK pins?

I've tried using a normal rotary encoder and the same issue occurs - it moves to the next file on both the rising and falling edge of each detent (i.e. on 'z' and 'y' points in image below) of the rotary switch:

Image

(I'm sure you know the above technical details already, but I just want to make sure I am explaining myself clearly)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:02 am

You said that when the rotary is disabled in the menu, it still "working". If so i think that there is a mixup with the rotary signal and the normal buttons.
i have checked last evening : when the rotary is disabled, the rotary inputs clock and data are disabled too.

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:23 am

Jeff wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:02 am
You said that when the rotary is disabled in the menu, it still "working". If so i think that there is a mixup with the rotary signal and the normal buttons.
i have checked last evening : when the rotary is disabled, the rotary inputs clock and data are disabled too.
I need to check it again tonight with Rotary type set to 'Disable', but when the Rotary is working/enabled I can hold the Rotary at the rising edge and the next file is shown (when I take it to the lowering edge, then again the next file is shown). Normally if you hold the LEFT or RIGHT buttons down, it keeps cycling through to the next file? So the behaviour is different?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6814
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by Jeff » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:25 am

solarmon wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:23 am
Jeff wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:02 am
You said that when the rotary is disabled in the menu, it still "working". If so i think that there is a mixup with the rotary signal and the normal buttons.
i have checked last evening : when the rotary is disabled, the rotary inputs clock and data are disabled too.
I need to check it again tonight with Rotary type set to 'Disable', but when the Rotary is working/enabled I can hold the Rotary at the rising edge and the next file is shown (when I take it to the lowering edge, then again the next file is shown). Normally if you hold the LEFT or RIGHT buttons down, it keeps cycling through to the next file? So the behaviour is different?
Is the rotary connected according to this ? : viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683#p17946

solarmon
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 am

Re: New Alpha version Firmware - Volunteer Testers needed !

Post by solarmon » Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:39 am

Jeff wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 11:25 am
Is the rotary connected according to this ? : viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683#p17946
Yes, it is connected to the DIR and CLK pins for the direction ( pins A and B of rotary encoder).

And for ground (pin C of rotary encoder) it is connected to the JB ground pin:

Image

Post Reply