STM32 flasher problem

Post Reply
teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

STM32 flasher problem

Post by teevee » Fri Jan 15, 2016 12:38 pm

Hello I want to flash my Gotek drive and I haven’t been available to get the "device decteded" yet and only shows “Link up”. So I canoot flash my drive yet.

Picture of my connections:
Image

Thoughts:
Using the solder pads and pin header, should not make any differences, as they are the same? (Or maybe not)
When I look closer at the "solder pads" and "pin header", then I can see:
• Called RX at the pin-header, but RXD on the solder pad.
• Called TX at the pin-header, but TXD on the solder pad.
• GND is GND, not matter if you take it from pin-head or solder pad.
• “5v solder pad” vs “VCC pin-head”, when the jumper is set correctly on 3,3v, then it won’t matter either?

I also saw another topic here on the forum, where a user had a similar problem and he only switched the USB adapter. I used the same USB interface adapter, which is mentioned here:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=43416

mondo1976
Posts: 141
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by mondo1976 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 10:44 pm

I'd double-check that your 5v source is giving off 5v, and then check that the 5v is making it to the 5v pad on the Gotek (if you don't want to solder directly to the pad).

teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by teevee » Sat Feb 27, 2016 6:00 pm

I got one-step a head after I updated the USB driver on my computer, but the programming does not get very far before it freezes.

What is then wrong? :(

I tried a few times and never manage to get higher than 15/100:
Image

teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by teevee » Sun Feb 28, 2016 5:04 pm

I found the error and its now flashed:
The problem is the STM32_SerialBridge is not compatible with 64 bit Windows 7, so I found my old Windows 7 32 bit laptop, which worked after 2 tries :)
• It had a sync error at first try, but worked fully after. (It makes some sync something around 50/100)

glenn
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:28 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by glenn » Thu May 19, 2016 10:54 am

Hmm, I have a similar problem, I have win7 64bit, and I can flash the cortex software without problems using the flash loader, but when I try to flash hxc with the serial bridge it stop on 49/100 every time..

glenn
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 1:28 am
Location: Stockholm
Contact:

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by glenn » Fri May 20, 2016 12:56 pm

Yesterday I tried with a laptop running Win7 32bit.

flash demo with cortex works fine, I can program it any number of times.

However, with the serial bridge I can connect to the gotek and the server, but if I click "program" nothing happens.

ironic
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 6:46 pm

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by ironic » Sat May 20, 2017 7:09 pm

Hi.
I use Win7 64b and an Arduno Uno (5v) to flash Gotek with Cortex firmware.
Image
It works with STMFlashLoader Demo.exe but i need to use 2400 bauds
Image Image Image Image Image Image
Image
I flashed 2 Gotek like this and a lot of time (Just to try).

BUT, i can't flash Gotek with SecSerialBridge.exe !
Image Image


What can i do or how can i have my money back ?

teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by teevee » Mon May 22, 2017 7:09 am

ironic wrote:
What can i do or how can i have my money back ?
You can always write to Jean and find a solution ;) (Or use Paypal resolution center, if you paid with paypal)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5741
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by Jeff » Wed May 31, 2017 10:43 pm

teevee wrote:
ironic wrote:
What can i do or how can i have my money back ?
You can always write to Jean and find a solution ;) (Or use Paypal resolution center, if you paid with paypal)
solved...

tzok
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:52 pm

Re: STM32 flasher problem

Post by tzok » Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:07 am

On this particular FTDI232R adapter the jumper switches not only TTL standard of Rx and Tx lines, but also the Vcc. So when you set the jumper for 3.3V you can't use the Vcc line from adapter to power up the Gotek. You can either set the adapter to 5V, because as far as I know the STM32 UART pins are 5V tolerant, or use an external 5V power supply for Gotek. It requires only 5V on power connector, 12V is not required (as for most mechanical floppy disk drives).

Post Reply