[Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Jeff » Thu Aug 17, 2017 5:15 pm

Xiantrius wrote:
Mon Aug 14, 2017 8:59 pm
i have problem with Gotek Version.
My Test...
Garrision 2 is not 100% work Disk2 from IPF to HFE rev 3 Format.
Amiga load this Image and come Guru Meditation Software Failure.
I think convert from IPF to HFE rev3 is failed.

Captive is work and Savgame not work Disk.

Until now, everything I've tested is running.
I hope this give fix for HxC Software.
I use USB Gotek Emulator with Firmware v3.0.22.1a, HxC Software v2.1.7.0 and AUTOBOOT.HFE v1.49a.
thx

Best regards
Xiantrius
For Captive : Use a normal HFE file, not the V3, for the savegame image. you can format it into the game or generate it from the Extended ADF you have.

For Garrision 2 : Confirmed. i have to check it under WinUAE.

Xiantrius
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:00 am

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Xiantrius » Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:36 pm

Hi Jeff,

Englisch Translate:
I have the latest firmware HxCFEUSB_V3_0_23_5a.UPD on my USB stick and over the Gotek drive updated.
I've followed your advice and converted the externed ADF to rev1 HFE and tried again to format it using Captive.
Unfortunately it did not work and he still hangs.
I have now tested the externed ADF in rev1, 2 and 3 HFE and got to the test result.
Rev1 no success
Rev2 Captive was able to format the Savedisk and save the game.
Rev3 no success.

Conclusion:
In Rev1, I may understand this, because this is the first version. The rev2 works without problems and I think it works for some other games also with a special formatting in rev2.
Why does not Rev3 work?
I always thought that Rev3 is the best version ... obviously the function of this HFE version is not working for any situation.

In Deutsch geschrieben:
Ich habe die neuste Firmware HxCFEUSB_V3_0_23_5a.UPD auf mein USB Stick und über das Gotek Laufwerk geupdatet.
Ich habe deinen rat befolgt und die externed ADF in rev1 HFE umgewandelt und es noch einmal versucht mit dem formatieren über Captive.
Leider hat es nicht funktioniert und er hängt immer noch.
Ich habe nun die externed ADF in rev1, 2 und 3 HFE getestet und bin zum testergebnis gelangt.
Rev1 kein erfolg
Rev2 Captive konnte die Savedisk formatieren und Spielstand speichern.
Rev3 kein erfolg.

Thank you for taking the time for it Jeff. I'm curious if Garrision 2 will work on Gotek soon. :D

Fazit:
In Rev1 kann ich das vielleicht verstehen, denn das ist die erste Version. Die rev2 funktioniert ohne Probleme und ich denke das es für einige andere Spiele auch bei einer spezielle Formatierung in rev2 funktioniert.
Warum funktioniert Rev3 nicht?
Ich dachte immer, dass Rev3 die beste Version ist ... offensichtlich ist die Funktion dieser HFE-Version nicht für jede Situation funktionsfähig.

Vielen dank dass du dir die Zeit dafür nimmst Jeff. Ich bin mal gespannt ob Garrision 2 auch bald auf Gotek funktionieren wird. :D

Best regards,
Xiantrius

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Jeff » Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:39 pm

Xiantrius wrote:
Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:36 pm
Conclusion:
In Rev1, I may understand this, because this is the first version. The rev2 works without problems and I think it works for some other games also with a special formatting in rev2.
Why does not Rev3 work?
I always thought that Rev3 is the best version ... obviously the function of this HFE version is not working for any situation.
Use Rev3 HFE to convert the IPF file.
Use Rev1 HFE for the save game disk. Format it into the game.

I have tested this here and this is working fine.

Update your firmware if needed :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... rmware.zip
(folder Next_WIP_Alpha_Firmware_And_Tools)

Xiantrius
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:00 am

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Xiantrius » Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:26 pm

Hi Jeff,

Englisch Translate:
I have already installed firmware V3_0_23_5a.
Now my current test result.
Rev1 works
Rev2 works
Rev3 only for IPF and therefore it does not work.
Had probably made before the conversion sry.

As one of the not yet so familiar, is already confusing with the whole HFE versions.
But thank you for letting me know a little. :D

In Deutsch geschrieben:
Ich habe es bereits Firmware V3_0_23_5a installiert.
Nun mein aktuelles Testergebnis.
Rev1 funktioniert
Rev2 funktioniert
Rev3 nur für IPF und deswegen funktioniert es nicht.
Hatte wohl zuvor beim convertieren ein Fehler gemacht sry.

Als einer der das noch nicht so kennt, ist das schon verwirrend mit den ganzen HFE Versionen.
Aber vielen dank, dass du mich ein wenig aufgeklärt hast Jeff. :D

Best regards,
Xiantrius

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Jeff » Sat Aug 19, 2017 3:52 pm

Xiantrius wrote:
Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:26 pm
Rev3 only for IPF and therefore it does not work.
Sorry i don't understand this. :?: i have tested this game and it is working.

(btw the Rev 2 HFE doesn't work with Gotek for sure.)

Xiantrius
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:00 am

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Xiantrius » Sat Aug 19, 2017 6:15 pm

Hi Jeff,

Englisch:
I do not mean the game Captive, but the Captive Savedisk works in rev1 and 2 HFE.
But you could have guessed what it was all the time. :)
I also clear the Captive itself only in rev3 successfully works.
I meant it.
Rev3 only for IPF and why it does not work.
Is this now more understandable?
Rev3 only IPF works and with Savedisk it does not.

It is difficult to communicate, if you can not speak German and I only too little English.
I am writing about a language translator.

Deutsch:
Ich meine damit nicht das Spiel Captive, sondern die Captive Savedisk funktioniert in rev1 und 2 HFE.
Aber das hättest du dir eigentlich denken können um was es die ganze Zeit ging. :)
Mir ist auch klar das Captive selbst nur in rev3 erfolgreich funktioniert.
Ich meinte damit.
Rev3 nur für IPF und warum es nicht funktioniert.
Ist das jetzt verständlicher?
Rev3 nur IPF funktioniert und bei Savedisk es damit nicht.

Es ist schwer zu kommunizieren, wenn du kein deutsch kannst und ich nur zu wenig englisch behersche.
Ich schreibe hier über ein sprache translator.

Link: https://translate.google.de/

Best regards,
Xiantrius

Xiantrius
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:00 am

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Xiantrius » Mon Aug 21, 2017 5:58 am

Hi Jeff
i have a ask...

Englisch:
What about the IPF Garrison 2 Analysis?
How it looks with Garrison 2, you could load the disk 2 as HFE on your Amiga?

Deutsch:
Was ist mit der IPF Garrison 2 Analyse?
Wie sieht es mit Garrison 2 aus, konntest du die Disk 2 als HFE auf dein Amiga laden?

Best regards,
Xiantrius

Xiantrius
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:00 am

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Xiantrius » Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:15 pm

hmmm...
Jeff you were some times on this week.
Can I please have a reply from my penultimate post?

thx

Best regards,
Xiantrius

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Jeff » Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:19 pm

Xiantrius wrote:
Fri Aug 25, 2017 1:15 pm
hmmm...
Jeff you were some times on this week.
Can I please have a reply from my penultimate post?

thx

Best regards,
Xiantrius
Sorry, i am actually far from my Amigas. I will be able to do tests next week.

Xiantrius
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2017 10:00 am

Re: [Gotek] IPF to HFE Conversion Problem

Post by Xiantrius » Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:43 pm

Ok, I understand, then I'll wait until then. Have a nice weekend.

Best regards,
Xiantrius

Post Reply