Akai S Series cross compatibility

Post Reply
j1mpst3r
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:30 am

Akai S Series cross compatibility

Post by j1mpst3r » Fri May 24, 2019 4:41 pm

Hi Jeff,

Considering the models of Akai S series Samplers can read floppy disks from other models without issue. Am I correct to assume this is not possible with HFE files. The reason I ask is because I'm having no luck with an S3000XL reading HFE files created on an S1000. It just says "no disk"

Thanks

J

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S Series cross compatibility

Post by Jeff » Fri May 24, 2019 5:27 pm

j1mpst3r wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 4:41 pm
Hi Jeff,

Considering the models of Akai S series Samplers can read floppy disks from other models without issue. Am I correct to assume this is not possible with HFE files. The reason I ask is because I'm having no luck with an S3000XL reading HFE files created on an S1000. It just says "no disk"

Thanks

J
Sure it is possible. You must set/force the floppy interface mode matching with the S3000XL into the embedded menu or in the config file.

j1mpst3r
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:30 am

Re: Akai S Series cross compatibility

Post by j1mpst3r » Fri May 24, 2019 6:05 pm

Thanks for the prompt reply as always Jeff.

I would be grateful if you could explain how I would do that.

Thanks
J

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6288
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S Series cross compatibility

Post by Jeff » Fri May 24, 2019 6:35 pm

j1mpst3r wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 6:05 pm
Thanks for the prompt reply as always Jeff.

I would be grateful if you could explain how I would do that.

Thanks
J
With oled/lcd screens : Remove the stick, press both buttons, select interface cfg , ibm pc hd, exit.

With digits screen : Remove the stick, press both buttons, select '1', then '02'.

menu meaning there :
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1683#p16457

j1mpst3r
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 1:30 am

Re: Akai S Series cross compatibility

Post by j1mpst3r » Fri May 24, 2019 6:46 pm

Thanks Jeff, I got lost and ended up on the custom firmware editor :oops: I'll do what you said and check the link.

Post Reply