Roland Soundbrush SB-55

HxC Floppy Emulator Roland Samplers/Keyboards support
Post Reply
acoutron
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:16 am

Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by acoutron » Wed May 04, 2011 1:29 pm

hi,
can you tell me if the emulator will work in this machine?
thanx!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Jeff » Wed May 04, 2011 9:11 pm

acoutron wrote:hi,
can you tell me if the emulator will work in this machine?
thanx!
Probably but never tested!

Gutkid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Gutkid » Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:37 am

Jeff,
I have an SD Slim I bought several years back to try to get working with a Roland SB-55. I became frustrated and lost interest. Since then I have tried once again to see If I could get it to work and saw various post about other pieces of Roland Equipment that also used a Chinon FZ354 Floppy drive. I have four of these which are an integrated part of our band's performance. The SB-55 is convenient and compact that I do not want to used a computer. So, I would really like to find an alternative for the Chinon FZ354. The SD Slim seems to be exactly what I'm looking for...if I can get it to work. I hope with your help I can. I have been in touch with Roland and they are no help.

The Jumpers on the Chinon FZ354 are on as follows:
DS0
MM
Ready

Also, I have read through the directions for the Dip switch settings, but I'm a bit confused on exactly how they should be set.
I had only the first (S1) switch set, but I'm not sure if this is correct.
I need help with how to setup the SD card so it is recognized by the SB-55.

I bit of background on the SB-55
The SB-55 works by loading a portion of a MIDI file into its local memory and sends the MIDI data out to the keyboard. As the Memory is completely read or becomes depleted, the SB-55 reads more of the MIDI file from the disk and refills the local memory. It does this until the MIDI file is done playing then stops. The SB-55 only uses 720K disks for this purpose.

I have loaded the latest firmware and I believe the correct operational software. Not sure what else to do.

Can you help????

If I can get it to work I will be buying more. :D

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Jeff » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:29 am

Set the first switch.
Is this machine using dos type disk readable by a computer ?

Gutkid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Gutkid » Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:14 pm

Yes. The disks are readable by a computer. I'm not sure if they are FAT12 or FAT32.
My guess because of 720k formatting they are probably FAT12.

Gutkid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Gutkid » Mon Dec 19, 2016 2:36 pm

However, when I format the disks, it is in Windows. The machine itself has an "Initialization" feature.
I believe this si the same as formatting because it allows you to read the disk on a PC.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5810
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Jeff » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:17 pm

Gutkid wrote:However, when I format the disks, it is in Windows. The machine itself has an "Initialization" feature.
I believe this si the same as formatting because it allows you to read the disk on a PC.
set the ID0-A (1) switch to ON and unpack this zip to the root of the sdcard :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... NDEXED.zip

Gutkid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Gutkid » Wed Dec 21, 2016 5:12 am

:D :D :D
That did it!!! Thank you very much!!!

I will be testing the full capability of the SB-55 with its new SD Slim. How large of a Disk-Image can I effectively create and have work with this configuration?

Could you explain to me what parameters I needed to select(or how I needed to set this up) to have this work as it does? I want to learn more. Also, when I create a Disk Image, given how I explained that this worked, what is the best Image to create? There is a long list of images available.

Do you all sell the standard size case only? This slim is only the board. The case configuration might be the best way to mount it.

Please add this to your compatibility list as "being tested". I want everyone who has an Roland SB-55 to know that there is a very nice upgrade for it. :o

Thank you again!!! 8)

Gutkid
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:06 am

Re: Roland Soundbrush SB-55

Post by Gutkid » Tue Dec 27, 2016 5:05 am

Jeff,
Could you show a screen shot of the "SDCard HxC Floppy Emulator settings" Configuration screen with the correct settings that made this work? I want to learn more about how this was setup

Post Reply