Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
Kna
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Kna » Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:16 pm

Hi,
recently installed a gotek hcx usb floppy emulator in my Akai S1000. Has been able to load and save samples/programs.
But I am now getting "Drive not ready!! Disk removed?" error-messages while trying to save to disk from memory.
The gotek then resets and goes to disk #000 regardless of which disk I was working with originally.

This occures both while trying to save a large volume over many emulated disks, AND while trying to save singular samples (small enough to fit on one floppy).
I am able to save a few files, and then it stops in the middle of the transfer...

Seems to me like it could be a configuration issue. Or maybe power-related? Jumper setting is S0. Any ideas?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6465
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Jeff » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:23 am

Have you tried to use a "clean" config file ?
There is some in the firmware archive.
https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... rmware.zip

Kna
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Kna » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:20 pm

Hi, thank for the quick reply.
Tried to load/save on a second S1000 (with the same Gotek) using the config-file you provided. It still freezes while saving to disk with error-message "bad floppy disk format!!". This is while trying to save to on of the disks provided in the quickinstall_floppydiskimages-package.

I also does not recognize the selected disk at startup, seemingly at random.
Seems very unstable, might be a faulty drive.
Ill have to try it with a second gotek.

Juper-setting: S0,
S1000 OS: v4.4

Kna
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Kna » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:01 pm

Okay, even more strange behavior from the gotek-drive.

I installed it in an emax rack, with fat32 fromatted usb stick with the quickinstall-files on; config fil, mixed chorus etc...
I then get a "Nor" error message on the Gotek, while the emax display says "please insert disk".*
The emax then starts to load disk and does so sucsessfully, eventually displaying "Female Choir" etc... and is ready to play.
The gotek STILL displays the "Nor"-message.
Jumper setting is S0. Which is equivalent to DS0, if i understand correctly?

Kna
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Kna » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:18 pm

On second and third try, it does not load at all, jut displays Nor-message.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6465
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Jeff » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:07 pm

Kna wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:18 pm
On second and third try, it does not load at all, jut displays Nor-message.
As explained in the instruction/"manual". "Nor" = "Normal mode"
You must use the indexed config file.

http://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtopi ... 683#p18293

Kna
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S1000 Gotek Drive not ready Disk removed

Post by Kna » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:33 pm

Ok, thank you.
Is jumper setting S0 the same as DS0?

Post Reply