Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
Kna
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Kna » Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:05 am

Hi everyone,
I have just installed a Hxc-flashed Gotek USB-drive in my S900, and it works like a charm.
Im using a 8GB USB-stick with 1000 empty disk images on it (found on net).
Only step left now is to upgrade to OS4 to get that filter envelope.
My question is, how do I get OS4 onto these disk-images? I assume I have to put them onto every disk so the OS can load with every disk?
Or is it sufficient to put OS4 on disk image 000 of the Gotek, and load this first every time I start up (sounds cumbersome)?

In any case, I need to put OS4 on a/many USB - disk images. Anyone know how to do this?

Oh, Im running OS 1.2.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Jeff » Sat Sep 23, 2017 7:29 pm

Kna wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 1:05 am
Hi everyone,
I have just installed a Hxc-flashed Gotek USB-drive in my S900, and it works like a charm.
Im using a 8GB USB-stick with 1000 empty disk images on it (found on net).
Only step left now is to upgrade to OS4 to get that filter envelope.
My question is, how do I get OS4 onto these disk-images? I assume I have to put them onto every disk so the OS can load with every disk?
Or is it sufficient to put OS4 on disk image 000 of the Gotek, and load this first every time I start up (sounds cumbersome)?

In any case, I need to put OS4 on a/many USB - disk images. Anyone know how to do this?

Oh, Im running OS 1.2.
I am not an expert on this machine, but it maybe need some EPROM reprogramming ?
Someone else know ?

Kna
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Kna » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:12 pm

Its supposed to work with just loading OS4 from disk if you're already running OS 1.2
What I dont understand is how I put the OS on the disk images?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Jeff » Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:19 pm

Kna wrote:
Sat Sep 23, 2017 8:12 pm
Its supposed to work with just loading OS4 from disk if you're already running OS 1.2
What I dont understand is how I put the OS on the disk images?
Ok got it : need to convert the raw image file to hfe : use the load raw file button in the hxc software and use the S900 predefined format, then load and then you can export the hfe file.

Kna
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Kna » Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:49 pm

Thanx, reply much appreciated. Actually, I dont understand the HxC software at the moment. I´ll look into it and see if it makes sense eventually...

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5628
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Jeff » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:22 pm

Kna wrote:
Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:49 pm
Thanx, reply much appreciated. Actually, I dont understand the HxC software at the moment. I´ll look into it and see if it makes sense eventually...
Page 8 :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... al_ENG.pdf

Kna
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:55 am

Re: Akai S900 OS4 onto usb stick

Post by Kna » Thu Sep 28, 2017 10:40 pm

Ok, thanks. :)

Post Reply