S900+Gotek Issue

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
TheBeachBorg
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:53 pm

S900+Gotek Issue

Post by TheBeachBorg » Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:27 am

Hey,

I know I'm missing something here. So far I've installed the Gotek. When booting the display reads HXC and the S900 loads properly. If I insert the usb drive with the downloaded/zipped s900 folder (including the .cfg and .hfe files) and press the disk button, the S900 display reads "OOPS No Disk Mounted" I've check the ribbon cables. What am I missing?

I bought the drive preloaded with the latest HXC firmware, and I've tried multiple USB drives.

mondo1976
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by mondo1976 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:31 pm

Make sure you unzip the archive into the root directory of the USB drive. The CFG/HFE files should not be in any subfolders. Also make sure the USB drive is formatted as FAT32.

If you have it setup correctly then the Gotek display should read "000". If it only reads HxC then something isn't right. You can ignore the S900 display until you get the Gotek to recognize that a virtual disk is present.

TheBeachBorg
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by TheBeachBorg » Sat Oct 22, 2016 10:29 pm

Any idea what it could mean if it stays on "hxc"? I've tried switching the ribbon cable both ways. The opposite of what it is now lead only to S900 boot hang-ups. No change on the Gotek.

TheBeachBorg
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by TheBeachBorg » Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:19 am

Resolved

Shy
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:16 am

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by Shy » Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:19 am

I have the same issue, how did you resolve this?

teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by teevee » Wed Jan 11, 2017 12:20 am

Shy wrote:I have the same issue, how did you resolve this?
Your HxC floppy drive is supposed to show at least “000” if you have done as mondo1976 mentioned above.
* You can download the quickinstall package here -> http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip < try copying the content from the S-900 folder onto your USB stick (which is formated as FAT32) and if that doesn’t work, then you should test another USB stick ;)

Some more information about your issue and what you have done to try finding a solution would be cool.

Obsolete
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by Obsolete » Wed Jun 14, 2017 8:05 pm

Hi

I have a problem with my gotek in my S900.
I think I have done what it takes but nothing goes ^^

- The floppy cable works well with the original 3.5 drive
- All files at the root .. hfe & HXCSDFE.CFG
- The files hfe are named DSKA0000.HFE, DSKA0001.HFE ...
- I tested with several USB stick, formatted in fat32.
- Jumper on S0 and reverse the floppy cable. (I tested S1 too)

My gotek displays HXC, with or without the usb stick.
BUT never the 000, 001, 002...
My S900 boot and run good, but Gokek is freeze on "HXC"

I do not know what to do :(

Otherwise in the quickinstaller package the folder contains the S2000 Os? It must be an error.

teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by teevee » Fri Jun 16, 2017 5:32 pm

Obsolete wrote:Hi

I have a problem with my gotek in my S900.
I think I have done what it takes but nothing goes ^^

- The floppy cable works well with the original 3.5 drive
- All files at the root .. hfe & HXCSDFE.CFG
- The files hfe are named DSKA0000.HFE, DSKA0001.HFE ...
- I tested with several USB stick, formatted in fat32.
- Jumper on S0 and reverse the floppy cable. (I tested S1 too)

My gotek displays HXC, with or without the usb stick.
BUT never the 000, 001, 002...
My S900 boot and run good, but Gokek is freeze on "HXC"

I do not know what to do :(

Otherwise in the quickinstaller package the folder contains the S2000 Os? It must be an error.
Is your Gotek HxC drive frozen or is it waiting for a usb stick?
• You can test, by holding the two blank knobs, while you power the device. The Gotek screen will then change to LDR. You can then re-load the firmware/software (HXCFEUSB_HFE_V3_0_8_2a.upd) with the following package -> http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... rmware.zip

I don’t know if the config file in the quick-install package is the same for the USB version. In the same .zip I linked you above, you will find another config file under the following path:
HXCFEUSB_HFE_beta_firmware\Config_Files\Indexed_mode

Try to copy this config file and one of the DSKA0000.HFE from quickinstall package on to your stick and test again.

Obsolete
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:59 pm

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by Obsolete » Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:54 pm

Hi

I ended up finding a solution, but thank you for your message.

Others will find good information here ;)

Akai S900 and Gotek work very well :mrgreen:

tk1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 8:54 am

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by tk1 » Fri Aug 18, 2017 9:35 am

I've just installed a FAT32 HxC formatted Gotek drive on my S900. Downloaded and unzipped the folder provided in the link. Copied all CFG/HFE files to root folder on USB. The Gotek reads 000 through to 999. Hit DISK then ENTER and nothing loads :cry: Can someone please help?

Mac
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:42 am

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by Mac » Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:08 am

I’m having No luck getting my reader to work with my S900 after following the instructions. The screen just reads hHc what can I do to troubleshoot this issue ?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5515
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by Jeff » Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:21 am

Mac wrote:
Mon Feb 05, 2018 4:08 am
I’m having No luck getting my reader to work with my S900 after following the instructions. The screen just reads hHc what can I do to troubleshoot this issue ?
Use the S900 HFE files present into this archive
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

and the attached cfg file (indexed mode).
HXCSDFE.CFG.zip
(177 Bytes) Downloaded 39 times

Mac
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:42 am

Re: S900+Gotek Issue

Post by Mac » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:37 pm

Must have been my CFG file because now she works. Thanks.

Post Reply