I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head around...

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by Jeff » Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:21 pm

HB3 wrote:The 1.6 mb files. EMXP could convert the to working FHE files but I couldn't get the HxC software to work.

Have you selected the "Predefined Disk Layout" to "Akai S950 3"5 HD Floppy" before loading the raw file ?

HB3
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:50 am

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by HB3 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:53 am

Yes. I just went through the process to double check. I'm using the mac version of the software.

Here is an example Akai .img file:
https://we.tl/VMM5UOu7WO

Here is an example of the output from HXC:
https://we.tl/j7p6ejK58Y

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by Jeff » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:45 am

HB3 wrote:Yes. I just went through the process to double check. I'm using the mac version of the software.

Here is an example Akai .img file:
https://we.tl/VMM5UOu7WO

Here is an example of the output from HXC:
https://we.tl/j7p6ejK58Y
look fine.

Have you test the Akai images into this archive ? :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

if doesn't work, have you the akai s950 resistor mod on your hxc ?

HB3
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:50 am

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by HB3 » Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:51 am

My HxC had the S950 resistor mod added by Lotharek.

I have tested the image files in the Akai image archive and they work with my HxC.

When I convert a IMG file to a HEF file using EMXP they work with my HxC.

When I try to convert IMG files in the HxC software they DO NOT work with my HxC.

If you were able to get the example IMG file I uploaded to convert into a FHE file I must be doing something wrong. Please outline the exact steps you took to turn the IMG file into a FHE file. :?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by Jeff » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:24 am

HB3 wrote:My HxC had the S950 resistor mod added by Lotharek.

I have tested the image files in the Akai image archive and they work with my HxC.

When I convert a IMG file to a HEF file using EMXP they work with my HxC.

When I try to convert IMG files in the HxC software they DO NOT work with my HxC.

If you were able to get the example IMG file I uploaded to convert into a FHE file I must be doing something wrong. Please outline the exact steps you took to turn the IMG file into a FHE file. :?
Is this HFE file working ? :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/S1000-109.zip

If yes, convert the img file into this archive again, and send me back the hfe (and also try the hfe on the akai).

HB3
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:50 am

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by HB3 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:38 am

Jeff wrote:Is this HFE file working ? :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/S1000-109.zip
Yes the HFE file is working on the Akai.

When I take the image file and convert I get this file:
https://we.tl/ykE8i8Qcyt

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by Jeff » Mon Dec 19, 2016 1:08 pm

HB3 wrote:
Jeff wrote:Is this HFE file working ? :
http://hxc2001.com/vrac/S1000-109.zip
Yes the HFE file is working on the Akai.

When I take the image file and convert I get this file:
https://we.tl/ykE8i8Qcyt
Both files (mine and your HFE) are exactly the same. So your file should work the same as mine...

HB3
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:50 am

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by HB3 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:08 pm

The software creates a file called "Raw Image"

When I rename that file and add .HFE at the end it doesn't work.

What am I doing wrong?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5518
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: I'm older than this S950 - can't quite get my head aroun

Post by Jeff » Tue Dec 20, 2016 10:51 pm

HB3 wrote:The software creates a file called "Raw Image"

When I rename that file and add .HFE at the end it doesn't work.

What am I doing wrong?
i really don't know... both files are exactly the same.
Have you tried another sdcard ?

Post Reply