Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
SKRYPTRS
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:57 am

Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SKRYPTRS » Thu Aug 11, 2016 12:54 am

The Akai S900 has the option to boot from disk to a 4.0 operating system. It basically makes it have all the functions of an s950. Is there a way to create an image to boot from disk? Since I can't save the operating system I can only load it. Is this possible? If so how?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5706
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by Jeff » Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:01 am

SKRYPTRS wrote:The Akai S900 has the option to boot from disk to a 4.0 operating system. It basically makes it have all the functions of an s950. Is there a way to create an image to boot from disk? Since I can't save the operating system I can only load it. Is this possible? If so how?
Use a pc to make an image of the disk.

Please see the software manual page 14.
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... al_ENG.pdf

living sounds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by living sounds » Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:14 pm

I've got a Gotek drive emulator running HxC. It runs fine in my S900 in all respects but one - auto load (and thus booting version 4) doesn't work. The S900 does auto load from the original FDD drive.

Also, is there a way to convert an HD floppy image to an SD image (provided there is sufficient free space left)?

Thanks!

SKRYPTRS
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SKRYPTRS » Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:09 am

Thats exactly where I'm at. Trying to make it autoload

living sounds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by living sounds » Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:51 am

I've tried every combination in terms of software and jumpers now, I can't get it to work.

SKRYPTRS
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 6:57 am

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SKRYPTRS » Wed Aug 24, 2016 12:21 am

Man that blows. Makes me wish I never got rid of my s950.

living sounds
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:04 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by living sounds » Wed Aug 24, 2016 11:20 am

SKRYPTRS wrote:Man that blows. Makes me wish I never got rid of my s950.
Me, too, I had two of those. But I think the S900 sounds a little better, more definition. Hope we can get this to work somehow.

TheBeachBorg
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:53 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by TheBeachBorg » Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:27 pm

Any luck on an auto load work around for booting OS4?

SPOD
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 12:24 pm

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by SPOD » Thu Sep 29, 2016 2:11 pm

I'm interested in this Autoload as well. 1.2 has the filter accessible anyway but if I can't use OS 4 then I won't be able to use my old disks.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5706
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by Jeff » Sat Oct 01, 2016 11:53 am

OS 4 image added to the S900 package :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

sookilala
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 12:15 am

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by sookilala » Thu Oct 06, 2016 1:39 am

living sounds wrote:I've got a Gotek drive emulator running HxC. It runs fine in my S900

im trying to get the gotek working in my s900, did you need to make any jumper pin configuration changes?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5706
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S900 Version 4 Boot

Post by Jeff » Mon Oct 10, 2016 9:43 pm

it's an hxc gotek ?

Post Reply