S300XL and Gotek : no success

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
d-m
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:09 pm

S300XL and Gotek : no success

Post by d-m » Thu Apr 14, 2016 3:33 pm

Hello. I'm stuck installing a Gotek model into the Akai S300XL.
It is the one on this picture: http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTAyM1gxMzE1/ ... s/$_57.JPG

I start with Akai S950 quickstart files on the USB key. I just change the mode to indexed so I am able to select the disk with facade buttons.
On the device, when I attempt to format or do any load operation, I systematically get the "No disk" error on screen.
The seller provided the device with preinstalled firware 3.0.6.7a. I reflashed it again to make sure and the problem persisted.

I am out of ideas at this point but I do not yet want to give up on this Gotek model.
In my limited understanding of the jumper settings, I have tried various suggestions (S0/S1, with M0 on and off), but again nothing helped. I am pretty confident I have the correct orientation of the bus connector, judging from the LED indicator flashing before popping the error message.

Any help would be sincerely appreciated.

d-m
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:09 pm

Re: S300XL and Gotek : no success

Post by d-m » Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:40 pm

Update: when I use quickinstall images of PC 1.44MB, the Akai accepts the presence of the a disk in the drive.

The formatting goes further but it fails with a different message on screen
DISK UNUSABLE - BAD DIRECTORY AREA

Other image types I tried also resulted in "No disk" errors so far.

teevee
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:21 pm

Re: S300XL and Gotek : no success

Post by teevee » Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:13 am

Hi,

did you find a solution to your problem?

I got a similar issue here:
http://torlus.com/floppy/forum/viewtopi ... =33&t=3003

Post Reply