S950 + Gotek HXC

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:30 pm

Hello all,


Thanx for this great forum.


Recenty I flashed a Gotek with HXC software. (using STM32_SerialBridge which went very well)
I'd like to build it into an Akai S950.

I already tried lots of things (diffent .CFG files and images (HD & DD).
But my Gotek drive doesn't give any option to select an image.
When I turn the Gotek drive emulator on display only says: "HXC". (this happens when it's built in the S950 and also when I take it out of the S950 and only apply 5v onto it).
There doesn't appear "000" in the screen.
I have tried an indexed mode .CFG file in combination with a set of DSKA000X.HFE files.

The way I prepared my (diffent) USB sticks:
- format it at fat32 on a Windows 7 32 bit computer.
- cluster: tried different values (standard, 1024kb, 4096kb).
- after formatting I copied the .cfg file direct to the USB stick.
- after having done that I copied some DSKA000X.HFE images on it. (I also tried copying one by one: first DSKA0000.HFE then DSKA0001.HFE etc..).

Am I doing something wrong?

mondo1976
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by mondo1976 » Sat Mar 12, 2016 12:19 am

You're using the same USB device that you used to load the firmware update?

If the USB stick contained the firmware update and the Gotek could successfully flash, then we know the stick can at least be seen by the Gotek which rules out a physical problem with the USB port/connectors.

MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Sat Mar 12, 2016 9:04 am

mondo1976 wrote:You're using the same USB device that you used to load the firmware update?

If the USB stick contained the firmware update and the Gotek could successfully flash, then we know the stick can at least be seen by the Gotek which rules out a physical problem with the USB port/connectors.

That's a good idea.
I kept the USB stick with the firmware apart and used other stick.
I'll try this soon and will keep you informed.


Thank you.

MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Sat Mar 12, 2016 4:00 pm

Today I tried the same USB stick I used to flash the Gotek with HXC software.
But this one gave the same results.. :(

Thanx for the reply anyway Mondo1976 ;)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6465
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by Jeff » Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:13 pm

MatthewleBlom wrote: Am I doing something wrong?
Probably. Please share your files.

mondo1976
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by mondo1976 » Mon Mar 14, 2016 3:56 am

I don't have an Akai, but isn't there an issue with having to add a resistor to get it to work with the S950? Not sure if this applies to the Gotek or not.

Also, I believe there are Akai S950 quick install disk images available from the website, if you're questioning the source of your HFEs. If you can get those to work, then you've just got to puzzle out why your own (created or borrowed) don't work. Baby steps.

MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Mon Mar 14, 2016 6:43 pm

Jeff wrote:
MatthewleBlom wrote: Am I doing something wrong?
Probably. Please share your files.

Dear Jeff,


There's a QuickInstall_FloppyDiskImages zip in which S900 and S950 submaps are located. I used these blank images and the incluided CFG file.
Furthermore I tried the indexed mode CFG located in the HXC software at: HXCFEUSB_HFE_beta_firmware/Config_Files/Indexed_mode/HXCSDFE.CFG

I uploaded these files here:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/296 ... XCSDFE.CFG
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/296 ... KA0000.HFE
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/296 ... XCSDFE.CFG
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/296 ... KA0000.HFE

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/296 ... XCSDFE.CFG


Thanx for helping!

MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:07 pm

Hello all,



I really don't know what I did, but the Gotek/HXC seems to be working in the S950.
I swear I tried the combination written here, but maybe my brains don't work that well (or maybe the can use an extra memory, something like an emulator with USB stick or so...:P )

The combination I am using now:

- Built the HXC-flashed Gotek into the S950
- one jumper is placed on the S0 position. No other jumpers are used.
- No resistor mod on the Gotek
- FAT32 formatted a 2 GB USB stick
- Copied the Indexed Mode HXCSDFE.CFG file into the root
- Copied some blank disk images from the QuickInstall_FloppyDiskImages file (I choose the SDHxCFE_Akai_S950 map).
- I put the USB stick into the Gotek drive and turned on the S950.

I've tried saving and loading a sample which worked well.


Everybody: thanx for helping!

MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:13 am

Just a pic :)
Attachments
S950HXCGotek.jpg
S950HXCGotek.jpg (181.79 KiB) Viewed 7437 times

berlin76
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 11:46 pm
Location: Berlin

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by berlin76 » Mon Mar 21, 2016 1:12 pm

Thanks a lot, MatthewleBlom.

Your posts encouraged me to try it for myself. I've ordered a Gotek yesterday. All other solutions are too expensive for my needs.

djpanini
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:34 pm

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by djpanini » Sun Aug 14, 2016 1:52 pm

Hi everybody,
I think i'm running into the same problem:
I successfully flashed the hxc firmware into the gotek drive, now the drive can load the config file and i can scroll trhu different img file using the buttons on the drive...
...But...my sampler cannot recognize the img file and keep saying me that disk is not formatted and when i try to format it it says disk is protected.
Jumper is in S0 position.
I'm using the original cable, I tried to rotate the cable just to prove myself i didn't messed up things and the akai told me disk is not mounted, so it seems it was oriented right.
Any suggestion?

Studiotools
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:25 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by Studiotools » Sat Jun 03, 2017 1:53 pm

Hello Together,

I also have this issue.

1. Akai S950 is OK with working Floppy Drive from an AKAI S1000
2. Build in Gotek HxC with current FW (June 2017).
3. Placed indexed CFG file and some files from the Quick-Install

4. Switch on S950 --> Gotek shows 000 (includes DSKA0000.hfe S950)

5. Access to the Disk Menu tooks several seconds (longer then with Floppy Drive)
6. S950 shows Disk is not formated and I can not format it

I also checked the Gotek HxC on a Yamaha TX16W and it works good.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any help.

Cheers,
T.

akachewy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by akachewy » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:28 pm

Studiotools wrote:Hello Together,

I also have this issue.

1. Akai S950 is OK with working Floppy Drive from an AKAI S1000
2. Build in Gotek HxC with current FW (June 2017).
3. Placed indexed CFG file and some files from the Quick-Install

4. Switch on S950 --> Gotek shows 000 (includes DSKA0000.hfe S950)

5. Access to the Disk Menu tooks several seconds (longer then with Floppy Drive)
6. S950 shows Disk is not formated and I can not format it

I also checked the Gotek HxC on a Yamaha TX16W and it works good.

What am I doing wrong? Thanks for any help.

Cheers,
T.
Hi
Exact same error when I tried to install one tonight. Manage to resolve it?

Cheers

akachewy
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by akachewy » Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:33 pm

djpanini wrote:Hi everybody,
I think i'm running into the same problem:
I successfully flashed the hxc firmware into the gotek drive, now the drive can load the config file and i can scroll trhu different img file using the buttons on the drive...
...But...my sampler cannot recognize the img file and keep saying me that disk is not formatted and when i try to format it it says disk is protected.
Jumper is in S0 position.
I'm using the original cable, I tried to rotate the cable just to prove myself i didn't messed up things and the akai told me disk is not mounted, so it seems it was oriented right.
Any suggestion?
Got the same issue. Ever resolve it?
Cheers

MatthewleBlom
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:39 am

Re: S950 + Gotek HXC

Post by MatthewleBlom » Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:50 pm

I once uploaded the config file and image files I use on another synthesizer/sampler related forum.
Mind the fact this isn't the newest config file anymore!
But these files should work:

http://www.synthforum.nl/forums/showpos ... ostcount=1

Also mind the fact this link goes to a Dutch speaking forum, but you probably already saw that;)
Google translate will be your friend, but all relevant info I posted there has also been posted here.

Post Reply