Akai S950

HxC Floppy Emulator Akai Keyboards/Samplers support
Post Reply
andyfox
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:48 pm

Re: Akai S950

Post by andyfox » Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:10 am

Hello, thanks for your reply.
I did some tests but still, no luck.

Strange thing no1
I tried to unplug the cable from the drive and plug again it, apparently nothing changed.
Only one thing I noted after replug of power cable:
before, the drive did not load properly and I got only black squares on the HxC LCD. :?:
Now it apparently is working...

Strange thing no2 is:
before the tech intervention, as soon as I switched on the Akai S950, it started loading the HFE (floppy) and all the samples.
Now, nothing happens.

When I try to load ANY .hfe image, I get the same result:
"OOPS! Disk in unprepared, you must FORMAT it....."

I tried formatting the HFE, formatting goes smoothly.
When I try to reload the same disk I format, same result: "OOPS! Disk in unprepared, you must FORMAT it....."

I am also using the disks downloaded from HxC official website.
A real nightmare.

Anybody has an idea?

Andy

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6803
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Akai S950

Post by Jeff » Tue Nov 12, 2019 8:55 am

andyfox wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:10 am
Hello, thanks for your reply.
I did some tests but still, no luck.

Strange thing no1
I tried to unplug the cable from the drive and plug again it, apparently nothing changed.
Only one thing I noted after replug of power cable:
before, the drive did not load properly and I got only black squares on the HxC LCD. :?:
Now it apparently is working...
Nothing strange to me : The power cable connector is/was bad/oxidized.
andyfox wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:10 am

Strange thing no2 is:
before the tech intervention, as soon as I switched on the Akai S950, it started loading the HFE (floppy) and all the samples.
Now, nothing happens.

When I try to load ANY .hfe image, I get the same result:
"OOPS! Disk in unprepared, you must FORMAT it....."

I tried formatting the HFE, formatting goes smoothly.
When I try to reload the same disk I format, same result: "OOPS! Disk in unprepared, you must FORMAT it....."

I am also using the disks downloaded from HxC official website.
A real nightmare.

Anybody has an idea?

Andy
Are you sure that your power supply was serviced / replaced ? Can you check the +5v voltage ?
Is your HxC "modded" with the additional resistor ?

andyfox
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2019 1:48 pm

Re: Akai S950

Post by andyfox » Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:27 pm

Hello Jeff, thanks for reply and sorry for the late.
Yes the HxC is modded with the right transistor.
I am going to have my Akai S950 checked again for the right voltage and will post here the results.
Maybe the "new" (in reality old, since I changed it years ago..) LED display in my AKAI is taking too much energy from the PSU? :(

Thanks
Andy

Post Reply