Format LIF pour HP

Post Reply
laurent4cv
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:12 pm

Format LIF pour HP

Post by laurent4cv » Wed Jul 01, 2009 6:18 pm

Bonjour,
est il prévu a plus ou moins long termes que l'emulateur supporte les disquettes au format LIF ?

http://www.hpmuseum.org/cgi-sys/cgiwrap ... gi?read=24

J'ai du matériel HP ( HP 16500 ) qui utilise des disquettes DS 720K DD mais les disquettes de ce type la sont dures a trouver.

De plus les lecteurs de disquettes embarquées sont d'un type spécifique donc pas facile a trouver et donc dépanner !!

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus, n'hesitez pas.

Laurent

DashieV3
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:51 am

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by DashieV3 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:32 am

bonjour,

je suis aussi intéressé par l'émulateur.

de ce que je comprend le RAW Mode est supporté, et donc en laissant le 16500x formatter lui même le disque, ça devrait passer.

possible d'avoir une confirmation ? :)

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6668
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by Jeff » Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:34 am

DashieV3 wrote:bonjour,

je suis aussi intéressé par l'émulateur.

de ce que je comprend le RAW Mode est supporté, et donc en laissant le 16500x formatter lui même le disque, ça devrait passer.

possible d'avoir une confirmation ? :)
Oui. Et puis j'ai ajouté quelques images LIF :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

Pour info l'emulateur est déjà utilisé avec le format LIF dans pas mal d'équipements :
http://www.leasametric.com/search/lecte ... lent-4396b

DashieV3
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:51 am

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by DashieV3 » Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:35 am

Merci !

Je commanderais mon HxC a la fin du mois et pourrais faire l'upgrade :)

BlackTie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:34 am

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by BlackTie » Sat Oct 24, 2015 3:12 am

I'll do this in english since my french has long been rusty.

I'm trying to boot up an HP 1650A logic analyzer, which uses LIF formatted disks. Keysight provides the system files to download, so I've been trying to format and add the files to an image using lifutil on a virtual machine, but all I get are disk write protected errors. When I use the HxC Floppy Emulator tool to create an image, I can't add files through the disk browser since it's not a DOS formatted disk.

How could I make a LIF image and add the required system files to it? The next step I'm considering is editing an .img file with a hex editor and try to build the disk myself, which could take days to figure out.

Thank you.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6668
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by Jeff » Mon Oct 26, 2015 12:02 am

What is the method used to copy these files to a true floppy disk ?

BlackTie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:34 am

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by BlackTie » Mon Oct 26, 2015 11:17 pm

You would use lifutil (Keysight page) to format in DOS a floppy in LIF, then using the same tool, you would copy the system files (Also from Keysight). This post has the specifics.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6668
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by Jeff » Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:23 am

Ok so i think that this software can be modified to generate file image.
Can you point me the link to download it ?

BlackTie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:34 am

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by BlackTie » Fri Oct 30, 2015 1:36 am

Certainly. you can download the utility here: http://www.keysight.com/main/software.j ... =eng&cc=US (big red button). It consists of lifarc.exe, which, when run, installs the LIFUTIL tool in whichever folder it is. When copying the system files I linked to in the previous post, SYSTEM_ and PVTEST_ have LIF file type C001 and implementation specific field 534F544F, and the rest are type C120 with the same specific field.

If you can get it working, you'd help me a whole lot!

BlackTie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 24, 2015 1:34 am

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by BlackTie » Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:55 pm

I managed to copy the files to a floppy disk and make a disk dump to an img file, but the logic analyzer can't find the emulator. It might have to do with the difference in RPMs (the HP runs at 600 vs the regular 300). How can I change this setting?

I'll attach the image file for posterity.
Attachments
DSKA0000_hfe.zip
HP1650A System Disk dump
(238.7 KiB) Downloaded 259 times

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6668
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Format LIF pour HP

Post by Jeff » Tue Dec 29, 2015 10:27 am

I need the HFE file.

Post Reply