HxC on MSX

HxC Floppy Emulator on MSX and compatible support
Post Reply
Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

HxC on MSX

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:46 pm

Hi!

I have just bought one HxC :D

I have installed the CDM 2.04.16.exe (drivers) on Windows XP, run the Software on PC, put a DSK image, got the cable from the disk interface of my Philips 8245 MSX2 (720k), plugged it to the HxC, USB to HxC, turned on the MSX2 and... nothing.

Any idea? Have I read there is some kind of incompatibility?...

Thanks,

Dioniso

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: HxC on MSX

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 2:59 pm

Dioniso wrote:Hi!

I have just bought one HxC :D

I have installed the CDM 2.04.16.exe (drivers) on Windows XP, run the Software on PC, put a DSK image, got the cable from the disk interface of my Philips 8245 MSX2 (720k), plugged it to the HxC, USB to HxC, turned on the MSX2 and... nothing.

Any idea? Have I read there is some kind of incompatibility?...

Thanks,

Dioniso

mhh did you start the server software (http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... r_soft.zip) ?

What is the behavior of the leds ?

Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:06 pm

Thanks, Jeff, for your answer.

Before running the PC software I have D1 on.
When running the PC software I have D1 on and D4 led blinking.
When I insert a DSK I have D1 and D4 on (80 Tracks, 9 Sectors, 2 Side (s), Track: 00/80).

When I turn the MSX2 on it reads quickly some of the lower tracks and then go to MSX BASIC directly.

Could that be because I have to change something on the cable? :?:

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:08 pm

Dioniso wrote: Could that be because I have to change something on the cable? :?:
i don't think so. which file image are you using ?

D2 and D3 stay off?

Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:11 pm

I used a promo DSK from Arkanoah (MATRA). It's a 720k DSK image. I have tried 360k, too. Some other 720k games like SD SNATCHER, UNDEADLINE, etc...

Can you point me to an image you now for sure it works? It could be the format but it sounds really strange to me.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:14 pm

Dioniso wrote:I used a promo DSK from Arkanoah (MATRA). It's a 720k DSK image. I have tried 360k, too. Some other 720k games like SD SNATCHER, UNDEADLINE, etc...

Can you point me to an image you now for sure it works? It could be the format but it sounds really strange to me.

D2 and D3 stay off during the msx boot?

Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:21 pm

No, sorry. When booting, and the MSX beeps, the blink once.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:25 pm

Dioniso wrote:No, sorry. When booting, and the MSX beeps, the blink once.

If the msx try to access the floppy drive, D2 should be on.
During head stepping D3 should blink.

If these leds stays off, try to change the drive select source in the Settings menu (DS0,DS1,DS2,..).

Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:42 pm

When DS0 or DS2 selected, D2 led doesn't turn on.
When DS1 or MTRON selected, D2 led is on while trying to get access to the disk... but it goes to BASIC everytime.
By default, the software recognizes that I'm working with a MSX image.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 3:48 pm

Dioniso wrote:When DS0 or DS2 selected, D2 led doesn't turn on.
When DS1 or MTRON selected, D2 led is on while trying to get access to the disk... but it goes to BASIC everytime.
By default, the software recognizes that I'm working with a MSX image.
mhh this strange. the msx boot only on ds0 ?
where have you plugged the floppy emulator ?
can you try to list the second drive content with the basic ?

can you send me an image to this email :
http://hxc2001.free.fr/img/imiel.jpg

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:06 pm

Jeff wrote:
Dioniso wrote:When DS0 or DS2 selected, D2 led doesn't turn on.
When DS1 or MTRON selected, D2 led is on while trying to get access to the disk... but it goes to BASIC everytime.
By default, the software recognizes that I'm working with a MSX image.
mhh this strange. the msx boot only on ds0 ?
where have you plugged the floppy emulator ?
can you try to list the second drive content with the basic ?

can you send me an image to this email :
http://hxc2001.free.fr/img/imiel.jpg

is this your msx ?:
http://msx.retro8bits.com/msxdocs/philipsnms8245sm.pdf

did you do this?:
http://www.msxarchive.nl/pub/msx/mirror ... s8245e.pdf

Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:22 pm

I have just sent you an email with pictures, info, etc.

The model I am testing is a NMS8245 with a PC diskdrive, so the connector is already a 34 pins one.

I will try on a NMS8280 right now.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:36 pm

hmm there are a problem with this dsk : there are no data in ArkPromo.dsk
!!!! (full of 0 -> you can see this with an hex editor )
this can explain with the msx doesn't see it...

can you retry the floppy emulator set on DS1 on the NMS8245 with a good floppy image (tested with an msx emulator for example).

Dioniso
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:30 pm

Post by Dioniso » Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:59 pm

Jeff, thank you very much!!!

As I told you, I had already tried several DSK images, but always with DS0. And the other test (DS0, DS1, DS2, ...) I did them with that false DSK image :oops:

Now it works!!! Thanks!!! I had to use the DS1.

As for the 8280, I just checked plugging the HxC on the second floppy unit and it didn't work. Do you want me to try it on the first diskdrive? I have several models, if you want me to try the HxC (but I guess it should work on every 34pins model).

-SONY HB-F1XDmk2 (Japanese MSX2)
-PANASONIC FS-A1S (Japanese MSX2)
-SANYO PHC-70FD (Japanese MSX2+)
-PANASONIC FSA1-ST (Japanese MSX Turbo-r)

Again, thank you very much. Very useful hardware! You can check my games here: http://msxdev.msxblue.com/ (under Dioniso)

A free MSX emulator very very accurate, here: http://www.bluemsx.com/

Merci pour m'aider et a+,

Dioniso

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 7020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Post by Jeff » Sun Mar 29, 2009 11:43 am

Dioniso wrote:Jeff, thank you very much!!!

As I told you, I had already tried several DSK images, but always with DS0. And the other test (DS0, DS1, DS2, ...) I did them with that false DSK image :oops:

Now it works!!! Thanks!!! I had to use the DS1.

As for the 8280, I just checked plugging the HxC on the second floppy unit and it didn't work. Do you want me to try it on the first diskdrive? I have several models, if you want me to try the HxC (but I guess it should work on every 34pins model).

-SONY HB-F1XDmk2 (Japanese MSX2)
-PANASONIC FS-A1S (Japanese MSX2)
-SANYO PHC-70FD (Japanese MSX2+)
-PANASONIC FSA1-ST (Japanese MSX Turbo-r)

Again, thank you very much. Very useful hardware! You can check my games here: http://msxdev.msxblue.com/ (under Dioniso)

A free MSX emulator very very accurate, here: http://www.bluemsx.com/

Merci pour m'aider et a+,

Dioniso
Good ! :)

Yes you can test it with all configurations (DS0,DS1,DS2...). The good configuration is depending of the computer, the floppy cable and the floppy disk drive type (PC, Shuggart,... ) supported by the computer.

Post Reply