2.8" QD Disk Emulation

General discussion forum - for all that doesn't fit in any other category.
Post Reply
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:44 am

Attached !

(Interested by a trace of this)

EDIT: Removed

etaoin
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by etaoin » Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:50 am

Jeff wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:44 am
Attached !

(Interested by a trace of this)

HxCUSBFE.UPD
This one doesn't boot

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:58 am

Yes sorry. Try this one instead.

EDIT : Removed -> Use the official release.

With this QD file.

EDIT : Removed -> Use the firmware archive QD.

etaoin
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by etaoin » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:05 am

:shock:
Attachments
savecomplete.jpg
savecomplete.jpg (102.76 KiB) Viewed 1504 times

etaoin
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by etaoin » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:05 am

trace
Attachments
Schermafbeelding 2019-09-18 om 11.03.03.png
Schermafbeelding 2019-09-18 om 11.03.03.png (139.43 KiB) Viewed 1504 times

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:23 am

etaoin wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:05 am
:shock:
Et voilà ! :D : This was the Roland trick : They use the motor-on signal to clear the ready signal. I will check if this feature is common to all the QD drives or only present in model used by Roland.

This also explains the "Short ready" behaviour seen before.

I will check the qd drive i have here and decide if this should be set as an option or not.

Good that this last issue is cleared, i can work on something else now ! :D

Image

etaoin
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by etaoin » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:26 am

I've successfully saved and loaded a multi-disk sample from the Roland library as well now!

etaoin
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by etaoin » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:43 am

Jeff wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:23 am
Good that this last issue is cleared, i can work on something else now ! :D
Yes, same here. Useful money-earning stuf.

And then on to fitting the Gotek in the S10.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:58 pm

So this RY signal behaviour is specific to the Roland machines.

There is now 2 builds of the QD firmware :
18 September 2019 : Firmware STM32 USB HxCFloppyEmulator v3.4.7.11a ( https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/ and WIP_Firmware folder )

- QuickDisk support :

- Better ready timings.
- Support Roland /RY signal behavior. (Firmware QuickDisk\HxCFEUSB_V3_4_7_11a_Roland_QuickDisk.UPD)
HXCFEUSB_HFE_beta_firmware.zip

USB_HFE_hxc_floppy_emulator_firmware_release_notes.txt

Custom HxC firmware

Use the firmware "HxCFEUSB_V3_4_X_Xa_Roland_QuickDisk.UPD" for Roland machines.

Thanks again to all beta testers ! :D

z23
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:03 am

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by z23 » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:30 am

AMSynths wrote:
Sun Sep 15, 2019 2:40 pm
Hi
Been on holiday, latest Roland test results:

fw 3.4.7.1 loads ok from the latest HxCUSBFE

Could not load the blank QD but OK with Roland Formatted file
SAVE works, but with VERIFY ERROR every time
LOAD works from this saved file

So looks like we just need to sort the VERIFY for the Roland. Any traces/data you want me to do?
I am going to load the Gotek up with all the factory samples and try out my adapter PCB

UPDATE: Success with sample dumping into S-220 the factory library then saving to Gotek USB except for saves that need more than one QD due to the verify errors. Work around is to save each Bank separately.
Just finished installing a gotek in my S-220. I notice I'm also getting verify errors every time, but it seems to save and I can reload a sound I recorded on the next boot up. I guess at this point we're just waiting for bug fixes?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:19 am

z23 wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:30 am
Just finished installing a gotek in my S-220. I notice I'm also getting verify errors every time, but it seems to save and I can reload a sound I recorded on the next boot up. I guess at this point we're just waiting for bug fixes?
This is fixed in the above firmware !

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... rmware.zip

In the QuickDisk folder:

HxCFEUSB_V3_4_7_11a_Roland_QuickDisk.UPD

with the DSKA0001_Roland.QD file image.

Check that you have the right firmware flashed : If you have an lcd/oled gotek : just read the version, if you have a 7 segments gotek : remove the stick, press both buttons, select 'F' and then read the version numbers.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:56 am

etaoin wrote:
Wed Sep 18, 2019 11:43 am
Yes, same here. Useful money-earning stuf.

And then on to fitting the Gotek in the S10.
(If you could just try the official release to check that all still working ? :D )

etaoin
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:10 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by etaoin » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:27 am

Jeff wrote:
Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:56 am
(If you could just try the official release to check that all still working ? :D )
I'll have to look at it later as the S10 doesn't recognise it at all, but it also stopped recognising the real QD...
Maybe the cable has gone after all the plugging and unplugging.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6809
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Thu Sep 19, 2019 9:05 am

Anyway i have just tried it and the Roland ready signal works just as expected. So this is ok !

I am removing the experimental files from this thread (firmwares & QD images) since this seems to confuse peoples. (I keep a copy of the files if needed...). Some are trying non-working experimental stuffs from this thread while a working official release is already available. (I got feedbacks by email on 1 week old stuff from this thread).

So unless i am debugging something directly with you, please use the official release :

https://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_dri ... rmware.zip

The most recent and stable firmwares for QuickDisk Emulation is present into the above archive in the "QuickDisk" folder.

The firmware was tested successfully on Akai X7000, Akai S612 (MD280), Roland S10 (use the "Roland" UPD variant for Roland machines).
And this should definitively works on the others Roland machines (S-220, MKS-100...) (use the "Roland" UPD variant for Roland machines).

Of course you can ( you must !! :D ) report any issues you have with this official version !

AMSynths
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2019 10:43 am

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by AMSynths » Thu Sep 19, 2019 10:54 am

Works with S-220. Many thanks to all...!!

Post Reply