2.8" QD Disk Emulation

General discussion forum - for all that doesn't fit in any other category.
mocheez
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:14 am
Location: France

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by mocheez » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:29 am

UP! :D

Hi Jeff! I discovered this thread a couple of days ago while searching for some tips and tricks for my newly acquired S-220, which I know nothing about except it is plagued with an abandoned disk drive standard ;-) I am in the process of getting some original Roland quick disks but I have yet to discover if my drive is working. If not, all I can rely on is SMDI transfer of sounds, back and forth.
So, yeah, Jeff… I'd also be more than interested in your progress on the SD card replacement. It's the only piece of good news on the S-220/S700 horizon, so far.

mcSDHXC
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:39 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by mcSDHXC » Wed Feb 22, 2017 1:07 pm

Is anything happening on this front or is QD emulation dead?

entropismo
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:36 am

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by entropismo » Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:48 am

Hello, this is my first and may be my last post here, but I have the same problem related here. I registered here only to tell you the good news :D , ¡¡¡¡There is a Quick Disk emulator!!!! I've founded in a not so deeper googling, with and automatic traduction of a Japanese site, I didn't found the 'buy here' button, but there is, even with firmware updates.

http://www.2a03.jp/~norix/virtuaqd/

It was designed for MSX but there is posted that an user tryed it on a Korg SQD8, so it should work in any of our machines.

I'm sure you can go deeper and take more info about it, pls if you buy tell me your experience. At the time I'm waiting a belt to revive my Roland S10 drive, but I'll be following this. I'm sure there may be someone with a Japanese friend to complement the automatic traduction of the page and help to buy, they are awesome.

Regards from Spain and sorry for my bad english.

sesha
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:53 pm

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by sesha » Wed Feb 21, 2018 2:56 pm

Hi!

Damnit, No buy link on the japanese emulator.

New here as well. Is there any news in this?

Got a Korg SQD-1 I want to bring into the 21st century :)

elmegil
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 3:41 am

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by elmegil » Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:48 am

At the risk of giving everyone false hope, I figured I'd ping the thread: any news?

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5958
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Thu Nov 22, 2018 9:04 am

elmegil wrote:
Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:48 am
At the risk of giving everyone false hope, I figured I'd ping the thread: any news?
I still have no QD machine here... Is there a list of the machines using a QD drive somewhere ?

tedi
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:17 am

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by tedi » Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:17 pm

Here's a list of most common devices (has been posted earlier in this post):

Roland S10,
Roland MKS100,
Akai X7000,
Akai S700

I could send my MKS-100 for prototyping, if it's within EU. Shipping to overseas would probably exceed the devices price... Appreciate any update!

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5958
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: 2.8" QD Disk Emulation

Post by Jeff » Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:53 pm

tedi wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 11:17 pm
Here's a list of most common devices (has been posted earlier in this post):

Roland S10,
Roland MKS100,
Akai X7000,
Akai S700

I could send my MKS-100 for prototyping, if it's within EU. Shipping to overseas would probably exceed the devices price... Appreciate any update!
I am in France (Paris). Is these machines use the disks for data only or is there some operating system disk too ? I mean : is the floppy disk copy feature needed or not ?

Post Reply