Yamaha QX3 and the Gotek USB

HxC Floppy emulator support for all others Keyboards/Samplers...
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6694
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamaha QX3 and the Gotek USB

Post by Jeff » Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:55 pm

PaulStahl wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:30 pm
I tested more during lunch with the old floppy drive and seems the exit function is more normal i am not sure what happened. It does seem that the new firmware version is closer to being correct.. i will wait for the update from you before i try anything else.. thank you.. oh and i also did notice that the led light on the old floppy drive is on all the time..
attached the new firmware !
test2.zip
(81.85 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

PaulStahl
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Yamaha QX3 and the Gotek USB

Post by PaulStahl » Wed May 01, 2019 3:43 am

Jeff wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:55 pm
PaulStahl wrote:
Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:30 pm
I tested more during lunch with the old floppy drive and seems the exit function is more normal i am not sure what happened. It does seem that the new firmware version is closer to being correct.. i will wait for the update from you before i try anything else.. thank you.. oh and i also did notice that the led light on the old floppy drive is on all the time..
attached the new firmware !

test2.zip
Outstanding..my hats off to you sir.. So far everything seems to be functioning perfectly and no problems with any of the command buttons .. The only thing now would be an indexed version of the CFG to test switching between disks! Congratulations! :D .... Just a side note to anyone else reading this, i am using an 8GB sandisk cruzer fit USB stick with this GOTEK , they seem to perform very well..

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6694
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: Yamaha QX3 and the Gotek USB

Post by Jeff » Wed May 01, 2019 8:55 am

PaulStahl wrote:
Wed May 01, 2019 3:43 am
Outstanding..my hats off to you sir.. So far everything seems to be functioning perfectly and no problems with any of the command buttons .. The only thing now would be an indexed version of the CFG to test switching between disks! Congratulations! :D .... Just a side note to anyone else reading this, i am using an 8GB sandisk cruzer fit USB stick with this GOTEK , they seem to perform very well..
Ok super ! :D

Btw can you format and send me a blank working hfe file ?

For record here it is the working setup :

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Specific to the HxC Gotek :

Get a custom firmware with version >= v3.1.60.4a

https://hxc2001.com/custom_fw/

check the "Non gated mode" checkbox,
Set "Motor input line" to "Floppy Select Line".
Set "Motor ON - Ready delay" to 400ms.

Leave all others parameters as default.

Get and update the firmware.
Once your new firmware is flashed you may need to clear the drive internal settings to use some of your default settings : Press the right button at power up to clear them.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

The config file (for all SD HxC and Gotek HxC floppy emulators):

-> Start the hxc software,
-> Menu Settings -> SD HxC Floppy Emulator settings
-> In the "SD HxC Emulator Interface setting" set the Drive A config :
Mode=Custom, Pin 2=nDiskChange 1, Pin 34=nReady,
check "Drive B input as Drives Motor ON",
uncheck "2 drives emulation".

If you want to enable the Indexed mode, check "Enable indexed mode"

Save the config file.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

SD HxC rev C/F/Slim switches config : Set ID0-A and ID3-B to ON.

Gotek HxC Jumper config : Place the "MO" jumper, remove all others jumpers.

Attached the pre-built firmware and config files.
HxC_QX3.zip
(84.46 KiB) Downloaded 42 times

PaulStahl
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:16 pm

Re: Yamaha QX3 and the Gotek USB

Post by PaulStahl » Wed May 01, 2019 3:44 pm

I sent you the working blank HFE file formatted with the QX3.. I also tried the new indexed CFG file from your latest post and as far as I can tell everything is working as it should. I am able to switch between disks no problems and all data is saved and available on power up. Thanks!!

Post Reply