GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

HxC Floppy emulator support for all others Keyboards/Samplers...
Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5200
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:56 pm

marzzz wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:01 am
So is it literally plug-and-play? What about what I am reading above about reversing the cable? Are there any tutorials regarding the installation process?

Thanks!
yes. reversing the cable is just reconnecting the floppy ribbon to the other way.

marzzz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by marzzz » Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:42 pm

OK, thanks! I’ll also try to reach out to Rob Ocelot for specific installation advice.

marzzz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by marzzz » Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:30 am

Jeff wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:56 pm
marzzz wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:01 am
So is it literally plug-and-play? What about what I am reading above about reversing the cable?
yes. reversing the cable is just reconnecting the floppy ribbon to the other way.
OK, I haven't heard back from Rob, so if you don't mind my asking: Reversing the cable just involves flipping it around 180°; Is there any tab or piece of plastic that needs to be trimmed to do this? I haven't ordered anything yet, and haven't opened up my GEM S3, so any forewarning or instructions would be greatly appreciated.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5200
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Fri Feb 09, 2018 8:44 pm

marzzz wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 4:30 am
Jeff wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 1:56 pm
marzzz wrote:
Sun Jan 28, 2018 12:01 am
So is it literally plug-and-play? What about what I am reading above about reversing the cable?
yes. reversing the cable is just reconnecting the floppy ribbon to the other way.
OK, I haven't heard back from Rob, so if you don't mind my asking: Reversing the cable just involves flipping it around 180°;
yes!

marzzz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by marzzz » Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:37 pm

Ok, then once installed, if I put in a blank SD/USB (depending on which one I decide), the GEM would then be able to format it like any blank disk? I don’t need any additional software or formatting process? Apologies for these basic questions, but I have little experience doing something like this.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 5200
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by Jeff » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:11 am

marzzz wrote:
Sun Feb 11, 2018 3:37 pm
Ok, then once installed, if I put in a blank SD/USB (depending on which one I decide), the GEM would then be able to format it like any blank disk? I don’t need any additional software or formatting process? Apologies for these basic questions, but I have little experience doing something like this.
Really don't know. This depend on the ribbon used into you GEM S3.
marzzz wrote: 2) Are there any other physical settings I need to be concerned about? Something about setting jumpers?
Set the ID0-A (1) switch to ON.
marzzz wrote: 3) I plan on using the GEM S3 solely as a MIDI controller; I will not need to convert any files (only save general system settings from the synth). All I will need is for the GEM S3 to recognize the SD card are a “blank” disk that needs to be formatted. Once the drive is properly installed, will I be able to use it that way directly? Or are there any other steps involving software to make it functional?
Use the available GEM images in the quick install zip archive. You can format them as you want.

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

marzzz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 6:10 pm

Re: GEM S2/S3 and Turbo models

Post by marzzz » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:45 pm

Thank you! These are the kind of details I needed to be informed of; now I can go ahead and order.

Post Reply