EMaxREV C - not working

HxC Floppy Emulator E-mu Emax support
Post Reply
80sboy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 10:40 am

EMaxREV C - not working

Post by 80sboy » Mon May 21, 2012 12:11 am

Hello - I have a working HxC in my Korg DSS-1 and love it. Waiting on my rev F order to come in for my EII! IN the meantime, I picked up a rack mount EMax 1 - I've installed the HxC, and have gotten it to the point where it loads up an .em1 file and shows the sounds for a second, but then the screen goes Wrong System! and locks up. I've tried a few different downloads for the OS and can't seem to get any working properly.

Can anyone steer me in the right direction for the proper OS file and the proper install method for it?

I can only get it to load into the floppy emulator software though Load Raw image.

Also what are the proper SD HxC floppy settings?

Thanks in advance!

80sboy
tom

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Mon May 21, 2012 12:19 am

Hi,

Do you have the original floppy disk for this emax ?

EDIT: One image to test sent to your email.

80sboy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 10:40 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by 80sboy » Mon May 21, 2012 6:01 am

I do have the original floppy, but no OS disks and no PC witha floppy to make one.

I tried this file but still not loading - do I need to just copy it over to the SD card or load it and export it with HxCfloppy emulator?

Sorry, it seemed to work so easy with the Korg DSS-1, I just can;t seem to get it to load into this Emax.

best and thanks, my wife is in Paris right now on vacation!

tom

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Mon May 21, 2012 7:15 am

80sboy wrote: Sorry, it seemed to work so easy with the Korg DSS-1, I just can;t seem to get it to load into this Emax.
This should work easily too on the Emax.

What about the floppy cable connection ? : is it connected to the right way ? Did you see the floppy access led of the hxc reacting when the emax try to read the floppy ?
If the LED is always on, try to invert the floppy cable.

80sboy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 10:40 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by 80sboy » Mon May 21, 2012 7:24 am

Not sure what I;m doing wrong..does the file you sent just need to be copied (drag and drop) onto the SD card?

It accesses the HxC - it's just not booting properly...

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Mon May 21, 2012 7:31 am

80sboy wrote:Not sure what I;m doing wrong..does the file you sent just need to be copied (drag and drop) onto the SD card?

It accesses the HxC - it's just not booting properly...
Yes, just unzip it and just drag&drop.
On the floppy emu just select it.
That's all.

I will ask the image from another user.

Stay tuned !

80sboy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 10:40 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by 80sboy » Mon May 21, 2012 8:31 pm

It starts loading, gets to 73/80 on the display and stops. The Emax just displays "Wrong Software!"

Do I need to rename it emaxos.hfe?

What about settings for the HXSDFE.cfg file?

Thanks for your help, much appreciated!

tom

edit: I've tried a few different files, different jumper settings etc...nothing seems to work to get it to boot. Maybe there's a problem with the emax itself? I can place the HxC back into the DSS-1 and it works fine again. It really seems to be something about the way it's configured or the way the emaxos file is configured.

It counts to 3 on load, then jumps to 18, RA flashes once, jumps to 73 and stay there and the Emax just displays "wrong software!"

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Tue May 22, 2012 11:01 am

I sent to you another image to test.

80sboy
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun May 29, 2011 10:40 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by 80sboy » Tue May 22, 2012 10:27 pm

Surprise that works!

Thanks so much! Not sure what the difference was, but it works now!

best,

tom

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Tue May 22, 2012 11:29 pm

80sboy wrote:Surprise that works!

Thanks so much! Not sure what the difference was, but it works now!

best,

tom
This is the right software for your emax (RevC) coming from another HxC user :wink: !

JYL
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:41 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by JYL » Thu Jan 10, 2013 4:53 am

can't get it working here, neither.

what is the correct jumper setting?

is it drive 0, A (the most right and bottom)?

that is using "not-twisted" floppy cable?

also, can someone send me the disk image file known to work?

thanks...

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Thu Jan 10, 2013 8:24 am

JYL wrote:can't get it working here, neither.

what is the correct jumper setting?

is it drive 0, A (the most right and bottom)?

that is using "not-twisted" floppy cable?

also, can someone send me the disk image file known to work?

thanks...
all you need is on the project download/webpage

http://hxc2001.free.fr/floppy_drive_emu ... l#download
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... index.html
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip

JYL
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:41 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by JYL » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:33 pm

of course, i read the manuals, downloaded and used the software and files from the site, but could not make it work.

and no answers i am looking for in the manual.

that is why i am asking help on this forum.


ok, step by step.

i got the power connection part.

only connect 5v and ground. don't use 12v.

on my emax floppy power wires, yellow is 5v (4.45~4.46v to be exact when tested), and black is ground.

on my SD emulator, the left pin (just above where J4 is marked) is 5v connector, and two pins beside are ground.

so connected 5v to 5v, and ground to ground.

it powers on.

all three led lights are continuously on...


now, for jumper settings, which of following should be used?

1. Atari ST / Amiga / Shugart jumper settings

2. PC Compatible jumper settings

3. Amstrad CPC6128 jumper settings


thanks.

Jeff
Site Admin
Posts: 6301
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:12 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by Jeff » Thu Jan 10, 2013 5:57 pm

JYL wrote: also, can someone send me the disk image file known to work?
Yes here :

http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_driv ... Images.zip
JYL wrote: all three led lights are continuously on...
Wrong floppy cable connection way. Put the colored wire to the other side.
JYL wrote: now, for jumper settings, which of following should be used?
1. Atari ST / Amiga / Shugart jumper settings
ID0-A.

JYL
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:41 am

Re: EMaxREV C - not working

Post by JYL » Thu Jan 10, 2013 7:17 pm

that is one i tried. not working.

Wrong floppy cable connection way. Put the colored wire to the other side.
connected the floppy cable in both 2 possible ways, and also without the floppy cable, but no difference, not working.


3 led lights stays on without blinking, in all 3 cases. nothing shows in the display, no activity is observed.

but...

- when pin 1 (indicated by red color on the cable, marked in white letter on the side of floppy connector on the emax) is connected to the left (away from the jumper), my emax display says "insert disk" and play button light stays on.

- in other two cases, the display on my emax says "loading software" and play and stop button light stay on on my emax.


checked the original floppy drive by connecting it again and loading files. => floppy drive and floppy controller ok.

tested the longer cable by swapping with the original cable and loading files from the original floppy drive. => floppy cable ok.


possible something is not right with this sd emulator?

1. Atari ST / Amiga / Shugart jumper settings, ID0-A.
tried that already, not working.

Post Reply